Interprofessional Education Committee

Committee Charge

The charge to the committee is to develop a plan for building shared interprofessional1] courses and programs. A portion of this plan should be to design a common core curriculum or curricula components for College of Health programs. The committee should also design structures (processes) that will support and lead to further development of interprofessional curricula. The committee is encouraged to explore innovative and creative approaches to this charge.

Members of the committee are expected to act as leaders or champions of interprofessional education within their respective academic units.

Ultimately, faculty are responsible to the communities of Alaska, Alaskan health and social service providers, and their individual academic disciplines for the content and the quality of the curriculum.

Committee Roster, 2014-15


Cory R Lepage, Co-Chair, crlepage@uaa.alaska.edu
Christine M Michel, Co-Chair, cmmichel@uaa.alaska.edu
Alexa C Filanowicz, afilanowicz@uaa.alaska.edu 
Timothy J Hinterberger, tjhinterberger@uaa.alaska.edu 
Bree C Kessler, bckessler@uaa.alaska.edu 
Kristin S Knudsen, kknudsen@uaa.alaska.edu 
Heidi A Mannion, hamannion@uaa.alaska.edu
Stephanie Olson, smolson@uaa.alaska.edu
Lynn Paterna, lspaterna@uaa.alaska.edu
Troy C Payne, tpayne9@uaa.alaska.edu 
David M Pierce, dpierc14@uaa.alaska.edu 
Cynthia D Strobach, cdstrobach@uaa.alaska.edu 
Karen Ward, karenw@alaskachd.org

 


[1]interprofessional education is defined as formal, planned "occasions when two or more professions learn with, from and about each other to improve collaboration and the quality of care" (Barr, 2005). The definition of interprofessional education, in our context, is expanded to include collaboration between two or more academic units and/or disciplines.The ultimate goals of interprofessional education in the UAA COH are to increase collaboration between disciplines (professions), improve service delivery, reduce errors in health and human services, promote health and better systems of care, and prepare students for high demand careers that require effective team work.