Department of Health Sciences

Affiliate Faculty Members

  • Laura Arbour, MD (CV/pubs)
    Associate Professor
    University of British Columbia
    250-472-5544 Office
    laura.arbour@viha.ca
     
  • Abel Bult-Ito, PhD (CV)
    Associate Professor of Biology (Neuroscience)
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
    907-474-7158 Office
    907-474-6050 Fax
    ffab@uaf.edu
     
  • Tracey Burke, PhD (CV)
    Associate Professor
    School of Social Work 
    907-786-6905 Office
    907-786-6912 Fax
    tkburke@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Douglas Causey, PhD (CV)
    Professor Biological Sciences
    ENGR 303
    dcausey@uaa.alaska.edu
    907-786-1310 Office 
    907-786-4607 Fax
     
  • Linda Chamberlain, PhD, MPH (CV)
    Project Director 
    Alaska Family Violence Prevention Project (AFVPP) 
    907-269-3454 Office
    907-269-2041 Fax
    howlinghusky@gci.net
     
  • George Charles, PhD (CV)
    Director
    NRC for American Indian, Alaska Native & Native Hawaiian Elders
    907-786-6588 Office
    afgpc1@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Jack Chen, PhD (CV)
    Deputy Director, Alaska State Public Health Virology Laboratory
    Associate Professor, Dept. of Biology & Wildlife, CNSM
    Institute of Arctic Biology
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
    907-474-6566 Office
    907-474-4036 Fax
    j.chen@alaska.edu 
     
  • David Driscoll, PhD, MPH (CV)
    ICHS Director and Associate Professor
    University of Alaska Anchorage
    3211 Providence Drive, DPL 405
    Anchorage, AK 99508-4614
    907-786-6577 Office 
    907-786-6576 Fax 
    DavidDriscoll@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Grace M. Egeland, PhD (CV)
    Canada Research Chair, Associate Professor
    Center for Indigenous Peoples' Nutrition and Environment (CINE) 
    and School of Dietetics and Human Nutrition 
    McGill University 
    514-398-8642 Office 
    grace.egeland@mcgill.ca
     
  • Michael B. Harris, PhD (CV)
    Associate Professor
    Institute of Arctic Biology
    University of Alaska Fairbanks
     
  • Donna Hebbeler, FNP, MPH, DrPH (CV)
    Affiliate Assistant Professor of Public Health
    dhebbeler@alaska.net
     
  • Tom Hennessy, MD, MPH (CV)
    Infectious Disease Epidemiologist
    Medical Director, Arctic Investigations Program
    twhennessy@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Patricia Hensch, PA-C (CV)
    MEDEX NW PA Program, Alaska Division
    pat@hensch.com
     
  • Matthew Hirschfeld, MD (CV)
    Director, Maternal Child Health
    Alaska Native Medical Center
    mjhirschfeld@anthc.org
     
  • Melissa Kemberling, PhD, MPH (CV)
    Director of Program Planning and Evaluation
    Mat-Su Health Foundation
    mkemberling@healthymatsu.org
     
  • Denise Kolojejchick-Coslett, MS, PA-C (CV)
    Alaska Native Medical Center/Southcentral Foundation
    dkcoslett@gmail.com
     
  • Randy Magen, PhD (CV)
    Professor
    School of Social Work
    907-786-6901 Office
    afrhm1@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Ashley Marquardt, PA-C (CV)
    Primary Care Associates
    ashman48@hotmail.com
     
  • Joe McLaughlin, MD, MPH, TM (CV)
    Affiliate Assistant Professor of Public Health
    State Epidemiologist
    Alaska Division of Public Health 
    907-269-8000 Office
    Joe_McLaughlin@health.state.ak.us
     
  • Elizabeth Nobmann, PhD, MPH (CV)
    Affiliate Assistant Professor and Nutrition Consultant 
    bnobmann@customcpu.com
     
  • Alan Parkinson, PhD (CV)
    Affiliate Professor of Public Health
    Associate Director
    CDC - Arctic Investigations Program 
    ajp1@cdc.gov
     
  • Rashmi Prasad, PhD (CV)
    Associate Professor
    Business Administration
    907-786-4157 Office
    afrp2@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Alice Rarig, PhD, MPH (CV)
    Health Planner III
    DHSS, State of Alaska
    907-465-1285 Office
    907-465-6861 Fax
    alice_rarig@health.state.ak.us
     
  • Troy Ritter, REHS, MPH, DAAS (CV)
    Applied Sciences Manager
    Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
    tlritter@anthc.org
     
  • Brian Saylor, PhD, MPH (CV)
    Adjunct Professor
    College of Business and Public Policy
     
  • Jordan Schaul, PhD (CV)
    Conservation Biologist/Curator
    Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center 
    jordan@alaskawildlife.org
     
  • Jeffrey Smith, RS, MS (CV)
    Director, Environmental Health Support Department
    Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
    jjsmith@anthc.org
     
  • Barbara Stillwater, PhD, RN (CV)
    Coordinator
    Alaska Diabetes Prevention and Control Program
    Alaska Division of Public Health, Section of Epidemiology
    907-269-8035 Office
    907-269-5446 Fax
    barbara_stillwater@health.state.ak.us
     
  • Tenaya Sunbury, PhD, MS (CV)
    Post Doctoral Fellow
    Institute for Circumpolar Health Studies
    907-786-6585
    afts2@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Timothy Thomas, MD (CV)
    Director
    Clinical and Research Services Department
    Division of Community Health Services
    Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
    tkthomas@anthc.org
     
  • Barry Weiss, MD, FAAFP  (CV)
    Affiliate Professor of Public Health 
    bdweiss@u.arizona.edu

Professor Emeritus

  • Bernie Segal, PhD (CV)
    Professor Emeritus of Health Sciences 
    bernie@uaa.alaska.edu
     
  • Larry Weiss, PhD, MS (CV)
    Professor of Health Sciences 
    Professor Emeritus at UAA & Founding Director of the Alaska Center for Public Policy
    907-240-4141 Office 
    afldw@uaa.alaska.edu