Department of Journalism and Public Communications

University of Alaska Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive, PSB 203
Anchorage, AK   99508

Phone:  (907) 786-4180
Fax:  (907) 786-4179

Atwood Chair

Mark Trahant
Atwood Chair

Office: PSB 106B
(907) 786-6082
mntrahant@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Faculty

Elizabeth Arnold
Assistant Professor

Office: PSB 203 F
(907) 786-4186
earnoldnpr@gmail.com


Paola Banchero
Associate Professor, Department Chair

Office: PSB 203 E
(907) 786-4194
pbanchero@uaa.alaska.edu


Edgar Blatchford
Associate Professor

Office: PSB 203 H
(907) 786-4188
jpcedgarblatchford@gmail.com


Mark C. Bruner
Term Instructor

Office: PSB 155
(907) 786-4350
mcbruner@uaa.alaska.edu


Jo Gottschalk
Term Instructor

Office: PSB 155
(907) 786-4950
bjgottschalk@uaa.alaska.edu


Barbara Harville, Ph.D.
Professor

Online courses only; contact via e-mail
baharville@uaa.alaska.edu


Steve Johnson
Associate Professor, Director of Seawolf Debate

Office: ADM 252
(907) 786-4391
sljohnson@uaa.alaska.edu


Doug Kelly, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office:  PSB 203D
(907) 786-4185
docvideo@uaa.alaska.edu


Joy Chavez Mapaye, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: PSB 203 I
(907) 786-4195
jcmapaye@uaa.alaska.edu


Ron McGee
Associate Professor

Office: PSB 203G
(907) 786-4184
rnmcgee@uaa.alaska.edu


Marsha Schirack Olson
Term Instructor

Office: ADM 265
(907) 786-4398
maschirack@uaa.alaska.edu

Doug J. Parry, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: ADM 267
(907)786-4395
djparry@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Michelle Scaman
Term Instructor

Office: ADM 263
(907) 786-1024
mlscaman@uaa.alaska.edu


Marcia Stratton, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: SSB 354
(907) 786-4392
mrstratton@uaa.alaska.edu


Shawnalee Whitney
Associate Professor

Office: ADM 269
(907) 786-4393
sawhitney@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Staff

This department is served by Journalism Media Technician and Broadcast Professional Sam Zeller, and the administrative team for the Humanities Division, most of whom are housed in the English suite:

Sam Zeller
Broadcast Professional and Media Technician
sezeller@uaa.alaska.edu
Office: PSB 203B
Phone: 786-6487

Erin Day
Academic Advisor
elday@uaa.alaska.edu

Office: ADM 101-R
Phone: 786-1357

Brenda Henderson
Student Support and Graduate Affairs
bshenderson@uaa.alaska.edu
Office: ADM 101
Phone: 786-4355

Christina Talbott-Clark
Social Media and Satellite Office Support
cmtalbottclark@uaa.alaska.edu
Office: ADM 147J
Phone: 786-4182

 

Adjuncts

 

Ronnie Arnett
afrra@uaa.alaska.edu

Shawn Briscoe
ansfb@uaa.alaska.edu

Carey Fink
carey.fink@gmail.com

Christine Lidren
ancmt3@uaa.alaska.edu

John McKay
mckay@alaska.net

Bryan Meshke
bpmeshke@uaa.alaska.edu

Lisa Mounds-Craft
lnmoundscraft@alaska.edu

Solveig Pedersen
sol.pedersen@gmail.com

Aili Peyton
peyto008@gmail.com

Gina Romero
rmanderson@uaa.alaska.edu

Pik-ha Soo
psoo@uaa.alaska.edu

Patricia Steen
pasteen@uaa.alaska.edu

Pat Yack
Patrickyack@gmail.com