Department of Journalism and Public Communications

University of Alaska Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive, PSB 203
Anchorage, AK   99508

Phone:  (907) 786-4180
Fax:  (907) 786-4179

Atwood Chair

Mark Trahant
Atwood Chair

Office: PSB 106B
(907) 786-6082
mntrahant@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Faculty

Elizabeth Arnold
Assistant Professor

Office: PSB 203 F
(907) 786-4186
earnoldnpr@gmail.com


Paola Banchero
Associate Professor, Department Chair

Office: PSB 203 E
(907) 786-4194
pbanchero@uaa.alaska.edu


Edgar Blatchford
Associate Professor

Office: PSB 203 H
(907) 786-4188
jpcedgarblatchford@gmail.com


Mark C. Bruner
Term Instructor

Office: SSB 356
(907) 786-4350
mcbruner@uaa.alaska.edu


Jo Gottschalk
Term Instructor

Office: SSB 351
(907) 786-4950
bjgottschalk@uaa.alaska.edu


Barbara Harville, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: SSB 353
(907) 786-4396
baharville@uaa.alaska.edu


Steve Johnson
Associate Professor, Director of Seawolf Debate

Office: ADM 252
(907) 786-4391
sljohnson@uaa.alaska.edu


Doug Kelly, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office:  PSB 203D
(907) 786-4185
docvideo@uaa.alaska.edu


Joy Chavez Mapaye, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: PSB 203 I
(907) 786-4195
jcmapaye@uaa.alaska.edu


Ron McGee
Associate Professor

Office: PSB 203G
(907) 786-4184
rnmcgee@uaa.alaska.edu


Doug J. Parry, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: ADM 267
(907)786-4395
djparry@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Michelle Scaman
Term Instructor

Office: ADM 263
(907) 786-1024
mlscaman@uaa.alaska.edu


Marsha Schirack
Term Instructor

Office: ADM 265
(907) 786-4398?
maschirack@uaa.alaska.edu


Marcia Stratton, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: SSB 354
(907) 786-4392
mrstratton@uaa.alaska.edu


Shawnalee Whitney
Associate Professor

Office: ADM 269
(907) 786-4393
sawhitney@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Staff

This department is served by the administrative team for the Humanities Division, most of whom are housed in the English suite:

Kathy Woodhead
Assistant to the Associate Dean
kjwoodhead@uaa.alaska.edu
Office: ADM 101-C
Phone: 786-6016

Erin Day
Academic Advisor
elday@uaa.alaska.edu

Office: ADM 101-R
Phone: 786-1357

Paula Feldhacker
Divisional and Academic Support
pfeldhacker@uaa.alaska.edu

Office: ADM 101-D
Phone: 786-4357

Brenda Henderson
Student Support and Graduate Affairs
bshenderson@uaa.alaska.edu
Office: ADM 101
Phone: 786-4355

Christina Talbott-Clark
Social Media and Satellite Office Support
cmtalbottclark@uaa.alaska.edu
Office: PSB 203
Phone: 786-4182

 

Adjuncts

 

Ronnie Arnett
afrra@uaa.alaska.edu

Shawn Briscoe
ansfb@uaa.alaska.edu

Carey Fink
carey.fink@gmail.com

Christine Lidren
ancmt3@uaa.alaska.edu

John McKay
mckay@alaska.net

Bryan Meshke
bryanmeshke@yahoo.com

Lisa Mounds-Craft
lnmoundscraft@alaska.edu

Solveig Pedersen
sol.pedersen@gmail.com

Aili Peyton
peyto008@gmail.com

Gina Romero
rmanderson@uaa.alaska.edu

Pik-ha Soo
psoo@uaa.alaska.edu

Patricia Steen
pasteen@uaa.alaska.edu

Elizabeth Ware
edgeware@gci.net

Gretchen Wehmhoff
glwehmhoff@uaa.alaska.edu

Gregory Wilkie
gdwilkie@uaa.alaska.edu

Pat Yack
Patrickyack@gmail.com