Faculty Areas of Expertise Contact Information
Allan Barnes 

Allan Barnes, Ph.D., Professor

Ph.D. (Criminology), Florida State University, 1983

Research profile

Criminology
Crime prevention
Program evaluation

(907) 786-1819
arbarnes@uaa.alaska.edu
Jason Brandeis  Jason Brandeis, J.D., Assistant Professor

J.D., Vermont School of Law, 2001

Research profile

Constitutional law
Civil liberties
Legal research & writing
(907) 786-1812
jbrandeis@uaa.alaska.edu
Sharon Chamard  Sharon Chamard, Ph.D., Associate Professor /Director, Survey Research Center

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), Rutgers-Newark, 2003

Research profile

Situational crime prevention       
Problem-oriented policing
Survey research methods
(907) 786-1813
sechamard@uaa.alaska.edu
Ronald Everett  Ronald S. Everett, Ph.D., Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Sociology), University of Pennsylvania, 1988

Research profile

Sentencing
Corrections
Specialized courts
Criminal justice policy
(907) 786-1820
rseverett@uaa.alaska.edu
ryanfortson2012-75x96 Ryan Fortson, J.D., Ph.D.,
Assistant Professor

J.D., Stanford Law School, 2001
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Minnesota - Twin Cities, 2000

Research profile

Litigation & trial practice
Family law
Legal theory
(907) 786-4886
hrfortson@uaa.alaska.edu
jc-ak_bw  Kristin Knudsen, J.D., M.J.S.,
Assistant Professor

J.D., Santa Clara University, 1978
M.J.S., University of Nevada Reno/National Judicial College, 2012

Research profile

Legal research & writing
Health law
Judicial studies
Labor & employment
Torts & workers' compensation
(907) 786-4885
kknudsen@uaa.alaska.edu
Cory Lepage Cory R. Lepage, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (Sociology), University of California, Riverside, 2011

Research profile

Courts
Sociology of law
Criminological theory
Research methods & analysis 
(907) 786-4302
crlepage@uaa.alaska.edu
myrstol

Brad A. Myrstol, Ph.D., Associate Professor /Director, Alaska Justice Statistical Analysis Center (AJ-SAC)
Publications & Teaching

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), Indiana University, 2006

Research profile

Policing
Homelessness
Illicit drug use & crime
(907) 786-1837
bamyrstol@uaa.alaska.edu
Troy Payne  Troy Payne, Ph.D., Assistant Professor /Director, Crime Mapping Center

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), University of Cincinnati School of Criminal Justice,
2010

Research profile

Problem-oriented policing
Crime analysis
Geographic information systems (GIS)
Data analysis
(907) 786-1816
tpayne9@uaa.alaska.edu
Periman  Deborah Periman, J.D., Associate Professor/ Legal Studies Program Coordinator

J.D., Willamette University College of Law, 1985

Research profile

Paralegal practice
Professional ethics
Legal research
Legal writing
(907) 786-1125
dkperiman@uaa.alaska.edu
Marny Rivera 

Marny Rivera, Ph.D., Associate Professor /Justice Undergraduate Program Coordinator

Ph.D. (Criminology), Indiana University of Pennsylvania,
2002

Research profile

Criminology
Biobehavioral theory & research
Research methods
Substance use & crime
Underage substance abuse
Violence against women

(907) 786-1126
mrivera11@uaa.alaska.edu
Andre Rosay  André Rosay, Ph.D.,
Director, Professor

2012-2014 Visiting Executive Research Fellow National Institute of Justice,
Washington, D.C.

Ph.D. (Criminology and Criminal Justice), University of Maryland College Park, 1999

Research profile

Violence against women
Violence in American Indian & Alaska Native communities
Victimization surveys
Juvenile delinquency and juvenile justice




(907) 786-1821
abrosay@uaa.alaska.edu


 

Affiliate Faculty

Affiliation

Contact Information
Lu Ping  Lu De-ping, Ph.D., Professor
Deputy Director for Academy of Youth Development

Rissho University, Tokyo, Japan, 1997 - Semiotics
China Youth University for Political Science



86-10-88567185
chinesepresident@163.com

Publication Logo  Darryl S. Wood, Ph.D.,
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Criminology), Simon Fraser University, 1997
Washington State University Vancouver, Criminal Justice

(360) 546-9255
darrylwood@vancouver.wsu.edu 

angelagover

Angela Gover, Ph.D.,
Professor & Director

University of Maryland, Criminology & Criminal Justice

Undergraduate Program in Criminal Justice, University of Colorado Denver - School of Public Affairs

Family Violence
Violence against Women
Gender and Crime

(303) 315-2474
Angela.Gover@ucdenver.edu
       
  Emeritus Faculty  Areas of Expertise  Contact Information
John Angell  John E. Angell, Ph.D.,
Professor Emeritus

Michigan State University, 1975
Police administration
Community policing
Rural justice
ahjea@uaa.alaska.edu
Robert Congdon 

Robert Congdon, J.D.,
Professor Emeritus
(photo by Erik Hill)

Willamette University College of Law, 1982

Administrative Law
Business Law
Paralegal
afrec@uaa.alaska.edu
Publication Logo  Nancy E. Schafer, Ph.D.,
Professor Emeritus

University of Michigan, 1977
Corrections
Criminology
Juvenile justice
ahnes@uaa.alaska.edu

 
       
  Professional &
Research Staff
Areas of Expertise Contact Information
Barbara Armstrong  Barbara Armstrong, M.A.,
Editor, Alaska Justice Forum, Research Associate

University of Alaska Anchorage, 1983 - English
Research/editing
Information dissemination/blog
Special projects
(907) 786-1815
editor@uaa.alaska.edu
JC logo (2) Khristy Parker, M.P.A.,
Research Professional

University of Alaska Anchorage, 2013 - M.P.A./Criminal Justice Emphasis
Research
Survey design
Meta-analysis
(907) 786-1809
khristy@uaa.alaska.edu

 

       
  Support Staff
Areas of Expertise
Contact Information
charlotte titus Charlotte Titus,
Office Manager
Office management
Budgeting
Grants & Contracts
IT issues
(907) 786-1504
cb@uaa.alaska.edu
Melissa Green  Melissa S. Green,
Publications Specialist
Publication design
Website design
(Research & Publications)
(907) 786-1833
msgreen@uaa.alaska.edu
Tuyet Tran Tuyet Tran,
Academic Program Specialist
Scheduling
Curriculum
Faculty/student support
Website design
(For Students)
(907) 786-1810
tttran4@uaa.alaska.edu
Amy Perkins  Amy Perkins,
Fiscal Technician
Travel
Payroll
Accounting support
Student lab maintenance
(907) 786-1814
asperkins@uaa.alaska.edu