Faculty Areas of Expertise in Arctic Research, Scholarship and Creative Activities

Many UAA faculty members study and work on Arctic issues, across a broad array of disciplines. The following is a list of faculty members who have shared their areas of expertise in Arctic studies. This is a dynamic list and will be updated periodically.

Name: Mary Dallas Allen
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Social Work
Email: mdallen@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6992
Areas of Expertise: Social Work Practice and Sustainability in the Arctic

Name: Raymond Anthony
Title: Professor
Department: Department
Email: rxanthony@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4459
Areas of Expertise: Climate (Change) Ethics / Food Security / Future Generations / Environmental Philosophy and Justice

Name: Tina Boucher
Title: AKNHP Program Ecologist
Department: College of Arts & Sciences (CAS)
Email: tboucher@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6384
Areas of Expertise: Long-term monitoring of vegetation composition and structure in Alaska's Arctic (National Petroleum Reserve-Alaska). / Classification of Arctic vegetation and landscapes.

Name: Jennifer Burns
Title: Professor
Department: Biological Sciences
Email: jmburns@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-1527
Areas of Expertise: My research focuses on the health, physiology, and behavioral ecology of polar marine mammals. Research also involves working with native groups to gather local and traditional knowledge about these species, and to apply such information to management concerns.

Name: Matthew L. Carlson
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Biological Sciences & Alaska Center for Conservation Science
Email: mlcarlson@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6390
Areas of Expertise: Plant ecology, plant conservation biology

Name: Sally Carraher
Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Anthropology
Email: sfcarraher@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-1568
Areas of Expertise: I am biocultural and medical anthropologist. Areas of expertise include: ethnographic epidemiology; Arctic Native peoples, cultures, and history; Inuvialuit; Gwich'in; medical anthropology; .-environmental risk, risk perceptions, and cultural perceptions of human health in the Arctic, Northern foods, gardening, and nutrition; kinship studies; and applied anthropology

Name: Kristine J Crossen
Title: Professor and Chair
Department: Geological Sciences
Email: kjcrossen@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6838
Areas of Expertise: Glacial geology of Alaska

Name: Clare J. Dannenberg
Title: Assistant Professor of Linguistic Anthropology
Department: English and Anthropology
Email: cjdannenberg@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4386
Areas of Expertise: sociolinguistic and anthropological issues in language variation

Name: Herminia Din
Title: Professor of Art Education
Department: Art Email: hdin@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-1785
Areas of Expertise: Art, art education, community-based art, sustainable art, recycled art, Junk to Funk, Winter Design Project

Name: Aaron Dotson
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Civil Engineering
Email: addotson@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6041
Areas of Expertise: Drinking Water and Wastewater Treatment / Water Pollution / Snow Management / Community Empowerment/Development

Name: John Duffy, PhD
Title: Adjunct Professor
Department: College of Business and Public Policy
Email: jduffy@alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 830-7307
Areas of Expertise: I have expertise and am conducting research in the areas of climate change mitigation and disaster resilience at both the local government and community level.

Name: Nelta Edwards
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Sociology
Email: nelta.edwards@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4654
Areas of Expertise: Housing adequacy in Arctic Alaska and Canada.

Name: Ryan Fortson
Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Justice Center
Email: hrfortson@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4886
Areas of Expertise: Tribal courts in Alaska and their role in administering justice in rural areas

Name: Shannon Gramse
Title: Associate Professor
Department: College Preparatory & Developmental Studies Department (CPDS)
Email: sggramse@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6889
Areas of Expertise: poetry from Alaska, Northern Canada, Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland, and Arctic/Far Eastern Russia and ways of fostering artistic exchange and building a shared transnational sense of arctic identity.

Name: Diane Hirshberg
Title: Professor of Education Policy and Director
Department: Center for Alaska Education Policy Research, ISER
Email: dbhirshberg@alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-5413
Areas of Expertise: Circumpolar education  / Rural and indigenous education in Alaska / Education Policy in Alaska

Name: Lee Huskey
Title: Emeritus Professor of Economics
Department: Economics
Email: tlhuskey@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 306-9407
Areas of Expertise: The economy of the Circumpolar North and its communities; migration in the Circumpolar North; effects of resource production on northern communities

Name: Bruno Kappes
Title: Professor of Psychology & Health Science
Department: Psychology
Email: afbmk@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-1719
Areas of Expertise: Applied Psychophysiology & Biofeedback for Frostbite, Cold Injury, & Raynaud's.

Name: Marie Lowe
Title: Assistant Professor of Public Policy
Department: ISER
Email: mlowe@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6534
Areas of Expertise: Cultural dimensions of economic development and social policy issues associated with resource management, youth studies, education, and housing.

Name: Mark Masteller
Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Sustainable Energy
Email: mamasteller@matsu.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 745-9784
Areas of Expertise: Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, especially related to northern latitudes / Climate Change Impacts due to Fossil Energy use / Pathways to Clean Energy Economies

Name: Ron McGee
Title: Associate Professor
Department: Journalism
Email: rnmcgee@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 229-2994
Areas of Expertise: Media issues; crime in arctic cities

Name: LeeAnn Munk
Title: Professor
Department: Geological Sciences
Email: lamunk@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-6895
Areas of Expertise: High-latitude geochemical weathering of the Aleutian volcanic arc.

Name: Kimberly Pace
Title: Professor
Department: Political Science
Email: kjpace@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4837
Areas of Expertise: Comparative Northern Governance

Name: Mark A. Schreiter, Ph.D.
Title: Associate Professor
Department: History and Humanities
Email: maschreiter@kodiak.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 942-9109
Areas of Expertise: environmental history of the Pacific Northwest and Alaska/outfitting and guiding industries in the north/ Alaska History and environmental history in Alaska.

Name: Jennifer Stone
Title: Associate Professor
Department: English
Email: jstone32@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4373
Areas of Expertise: language issues in Alaska and place-based pedagogies in English Studies.

Name: Jamie Trammell
Title: Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies / Alaska Center for Conservation Science
Email: ejtrammell@uaa.alaska.edu
Phone: (907) 786-4865
Areas of Expertise: Arctic mapping, conservation design, environmental planning, climate vulnerability, environmental change, human footprint, remote sensing, water temperature, ecosystem monitoring, landscape ecology and socioecological systems.

UAA Faculty who would like to be added to this list should email Diane Hirshberg