Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
We understand that there is a lot of information to know when it comes to your student account; that why we have compiled a list of our most frequently asked questions. Do you have a question about UAA's credit card policies, when you can expect your financial aid refund, or what a 1098-T is? We have answers for you!
General Student Account Questions
- As a student, how do I grant access for a parent, guardian, spouse, or other party
to make a payment on my account?
A student may set up an authorized users through the Student Account Center, set up takes minutes!
An authorized user may also be set up to make payments through the Cashier's office by filing an Authorization to Release Education Record Information. This form must be returned to the Office of the Registrar at the One Stop Kiosk located in the University Center or to the Cashier's window. Once on file, the authorized user may pay at the Cashiering window. Student account information will not be shared with anyone but the student unless an authorization form is on file.
- When is my payment due?
Important Note: If you register for a late-starting course prior to UAA's published payment deadline, payment is due by 5pm on the published payment deadline, even if the course has not yet begun. If you register for a late-starting course after UAA's published payment deadline, payment is due at the time of registration. Please review the UAA Catalog for more information regarding payment for late-starting courses.
- What happens if I do not pay my balance in full by the payment deadline?
If your account is unpaid after the payment deadline it will be subject to late fee assessment and your student account will be put on hold. You may be unable to view grades, add or drop courses and order transcripts until your account has been paid in full.
Accounts over 180 days old are subject to reporting to a collections agency. Being sent to collections can negatively effect credit and increase your repayment costs through collection fees. If you have a delinquent account, your Alaska Permanent Fund Dividend (PFD) may be garnished under Alaska Statute 14.40.251 and Alaska Statute 43.23.073.
- How can I avoid late fees?
The best way to avoid late fees is to have payment arrangements well before the payment deadline.
This means making sure all necessary paperwork is submitted to financial aid in a timely fashion, informing scholarship donors of the payment deadline or setting up a payment plan to cover any outstanding balance.
- What are my options if I do not have the money to pay my balance?
- How do I drop or withdraw from my course(s) if I have a hold on my account?
Students with a hold on their account can still drop classes by:
- submitting an Add/Drop Form, which can be found at www.uaa.alaska.edu/records/registrarforms.cfm
- or by using the online Student-Initiated Drop Form.
A 100 percent refund of tuition and fees is automatically processed when official drop activity is completed before the add/drop deadline. No refund is issued after the deadline.
After the add/drop deadline, students may withdraw from classes up until the semester withdrawal deadline as long as no grade has been assigned for the class. Students may withdraw from full-semester classes using the drop procedures listed above.
- Can I use my Federal financial aid (Title IV) to pay a balance from a prior year?With written authorization, using the Title IV Authorization Form, we may apply $200 per aid year to a prior academic year balance. If you owe more than $200, please contact us to make payment arrangements.