You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Meet the Team

The Office of Equity and Compliance staff are available Monday through Friday, 8am - 5pm. If you have questions, would like to make a report or need assistance, you may contact any of our staff listed below. If outside of office hours and in need of immediate assistance, please call 911 or contact the University Police Department at 907-786-1120.

Sara Childress, M.S.W.

Sara Childress headshot wearing red blouse
Sara Childress

Director of OEC, Title IX Coordinator, and 504 Coordinator
(907) 786-6086
sgchildress@alaska.edu

Neil Best, Ph.D.

Neil Best in blue blazer, salmon button-up, and glasses
Neil Best

Deputy Title IX Coordinator and Civil Rights Investigator
(907) 786-1535
nabest@alaska.edu

 

Benjamin Stevens, J.D.

Ben headshot in lavender button-up with maroon tie
Benjamin Stevens

Civil Rights and Title IX Investigator and OEC Webpage CM
(907) 786-4788
bjstevens3@alaska.edu

 Staff Training Information

 

Title IX Liaisons

There are Title IX liaisons at each satellite campus of UAA. The liaisons can assist by providing information on Title IX, including the reporting process and supports available. They can provide assistance in making a Title IX report to the Office of Equity and Compliance at UAA, or provide confidential resources available for their campus.

Prince William Sound College

Ana Hinkle

Director of Student Affairs
(907) 834-1612
amhinkle@alaska.edu

Kodiak College

Sandra Chichenoff

Administrative Assistant to the Director
(907) 486-1219
sdchichenoff@alaska.edu

Mat-Su College

Rebecca Steffenson

Director of Academic Affairs, Assistant Director of Mat-Su College
(907) 746-9316
rebecca.steffenson@alaska.edu