Bachelor of Art in Political Science

The Department of Political Science offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science as well as a minor with an emphasis in Political Science or Public Administration.

The Political Science program is divided into five areas: comparative politics, international relations, political philosophy, American politics, and political behavior. Majors in Political Science are required to take at least one course in each of these areas, to specialize in one of them, and to complete introductory courses in political science. 

Admission Requirements

Complete the Application and Admission Requirements for Baccalaureate Programs.

Graduation Requirements
Core Courses
PS A101Introduction to American Government3
PS A102Introduction to Political Science3
PS A492Senior Seminar in Politics3
Complete one course from each of the four areas below:12
Comparative Politics
PS A301
Comparative Political Economy
PS A311
Comparative Politics
International Relations
PS A321
International Relations
PS A322
United States Foreign Policy
Political Philosophy
PS A332
History of Political Philosophy I: Classical
PS A333
History of Political Philosophy II: Modern
American Politics
PS A330
The American Political Tradition
PS A353
American Political Development
Complete 12 additional credits in PS courses. PS A490 may be repeated for up to 6 credits with a change in subtitle.12

A total of 120 credits is required for the degree, of which 39 credits must be upper-division; a minimum of 33 credits must be from PS courses.

Honors in Political Science

Students majoring in political science are eligible to graduate with departmental honors if they satisfy all of the following requirements:

  • Meet the requirements for a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science;
  • Maintain a minimum GPA of 3.50 in courses applicable to the degree requirements;
  • Complete PS A492 in the final term of study with a grade of A or B;
  • Receive an honors score (based upon criteria established by the department) on a comprehensive examination for majors.

Departmental honors are awarded by the political science faculty.