The Department of Political Science offers a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science as well as a minor with an emphasis in Political Science or Public Administration.

The Political Science program is divided into five areas: comparative politics, international relations, political philosophy, American politics, and political behavior. Majors in Political Science are required to take at least one course in each of these areas, to specialize in one of them, and to complete introductory courses in political science.

Note: Courses which meet College of Arts and Sciences requirements for Political Science majors are designated by a dagger (†) after their titles. 

1. Complete the 18 credit PS core:

  • PS A101 Intro to American Government † (3 cr)
  • PS A102 Intro to Political Science † (3 cr)
  • PS/SOC A361 Social Science Research Methods (3 cr)
  • PS A301 Comparative Political Economy (3 cr)
  • PS A330 The American Political Tradition (3 cr)
  • PS A492 Senior Seminar in Politics (3 cr, take in final spring semester)

2. Complete one starred (*) course from each of the five areas below (15 credits):

3. Complete six (6) more credits in upper-division political science courses from one of the five areas listed above. PS 490 may be repeated with a different subtitle.

4. A total of 120 credits is required for the degree, of which 42 must be upper-division, and minimum of 39 political science credits.

All students who earn a baccalaureate degree from UAA must have completed the General Education Requirements, and all students who earn a baccalaureate degree from the College of Arts and Sciences must have completed the CAS college requirements.