Elementary Education

Individuals interested in undergraduate elementary teacher preparation may obtain either a Bachelor of Arts or a Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Elementary Education. Unique features of the Elementary Education program include an emphasis on culturally responsive teaching in Alaska's context; a strong liberal studies focus; exposure to a range of teaching and curriculum design approaches, including integration of educational technology; and focused field experiences, developmentally sequenced in a variety of school/classroom settings.

Successful completion of the Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education (or the Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Elementary Education) requirements leads to an institutional recommendation for initial teacher certification with an endorsement in kindergarten through 6th grade. All programs are developed to meet the Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI).

Elementary Education supports an Honors Track option.

Elementary Education Faculty

Name/
ePortfolio
Title Program/Department UA Email Address Phone Office
Leah Brown Term Assistant Professor Elementary Education lbrown95@alaska.edu 907-786-4327 PSB 224B
Cathy Coulter, Ph.D. Associate Professor Elementary Education cacoulter@alaska.edu 907-786-4457 PSB 224C
Kitty Deal Assistant Professor Education 
Kodiak College KOC
kldeal@alaska.edu 907-486-1223 KCC123B
Hsing-Wen Hu, Ed.D Associate Professor Elementary Education hhu2@alaska.edu 907-786-1668 PSB 224E
Tim Jester, Ed.D Associate Professor Elementary Education & MEd  tejester@alaska.edu 907-786-1666 PSB 224D
Irasema Ortega, Ph.D. Associate Professor Elementary & Language Education iortega2@alaska.edu 907-786-4454 PSB 224F
Peter Snow, Ed.D Associate Professor Elementary Education Kenai River Campus KPC pmsnow@alaska.edu 907-262-0357 Ward 225
 The following is important information about the educational debt, earnings, and completion rates of students who attended this  program. 
 
Date Created 6/16/2017. These disclosures are required by the U.S Department of Education.
 

In order to view PDF files on your computer, you must have a PDF reader program installed. If you do not already have such a reader, you can download a free reader at Adobe's website: Download Adobe Acrobat Reader Software

Back to top