Contact Us

The College of Education is located in the Professional Studies Building (PSB): UAA campus map

College of Education Offices

College of Education Dean's Office, PSB 234
907-786-4613
 
COE Student Services Office, PSB 218
907-786-4401
 

Undergraduate & Initial Certification
907-786-4412
PSB 222, 223, 224, 225

Graduate Studies & Advanced Certification
907-786-4450
PSB 206, 224

Special Education & Speech-Language Pathology
907-786-4450
PSB 220, 222

Professional & Continuing Education (PACE)
907-786-1933
PSB 221

College of Education Faculty and Staff

Name/
ePortfolio
Title Program/Department UA Email Address Phone Office
Jonathan Bartels, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Secondary Education jbartels2@alaska.edu 907-786-1680 PSB 223B
Ginger Blackmon, Ed.D. Assistant Professor Educational Leadership glblackmon@alaska.edu 907-786-1645 PSB 206F
Katie Brennan Enrollment Specialist PACE kabrennan@alaska.edu 907-786-1934 PSB 221A
Ellen Brigham Term Assistant Professor Speech-Language Pathology  etbrigham@alaska.edu 907-786-4468 PSB 220D
Leah Brown Term Assistant Professor Elementary Education lbrown95@alaska.edu 907-786-4327 PSB 224B
Cathy Coulter, Ph.D. Associate Professor Elementary Education cacoulter@alaska.edu 907-786-4457 PSB 224C
Kitty Deal Assistant Professor Education 
Kodiak College KOC
kldeal@alaska.edu 907-486-1223 KCC123B
Paul Deputy, Ph.D. Dean Dean's Office pdeputy@alaska.edu 907-786-4413 PSB 234F 
Katie Galuska Academic Success Coordinator Student Services kjgalauska@alaska.edu 907-786-4306 PSB 218G
Deb Ginsberg Academic Success Coordinator Student Services dmginsburg@alaska.edu 907-786-4402 PSB 218C
Lisa Gonzales-Ives LEAP Grant Coordinator LEAP Project lmgonzales@alaska.edu 907-786-4424 PSB 206M
Jennifer Greene Enrollment and Operational Service Coordinator PACE jmgreene@alaska.edu 907-786-1932 PSB 221C
Jennifer Harty Coordinator of Professional Programs PACE jcharty@alaska.edu 907-786-1881 PSB 221B
Hattie Harvey, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Early Childhood Education haharvey@alaska.edu 907-786-4464 PSB 225F
Louisa Hayes Assistant to the Dean Dean's Office lrhayes@alaska.edu 907-786-4413 PSB 234C
Brenda Henderson Administrative Assistant Graduate Studies & Advanced Certification bshenderson@alaska.edu 907-786-4450 PSB 206
Wei-Ying Hsiao, Ed.D. Associate Professor Early Childhood Education whsiao@alaska.edu 907-786-4435 PSB 225C 
Hsing-Wen Hu, Ed.D. Associate Professor Elementary Education hhu2@alaska.edu 907-786-1668 PSB 224E
Krista James Term Assistant Professor Special Education kpjames@alaska.edu 907-786-4867 PSB 222D
Tim Jester, Ed.D Associate Professor Elementary Education & MEd  tejester@alaska.edu 907-786-1666 PSB 224D
Agatha John-Shields, M.Ed. Term Assistant Professor Education Leadership/ Secondary ajohnshields@alaska.edu 907-786-4419 PSB 206E
Jamie Johnston-Eddy Fiscal Professional Dean's Office jljohnstoneddy@alaska.edu 907-786-4449 PSB 234K
Louise Kempker Professional Programs Assistant PACE lekempker@alaska.edu 907-786-1933 PSB 221D
Geeta Kolean Fiscal Manager Dean's Office gkolean2@alaska.edu 907-786-1938 PSB 234G
Kathy Lardner Administrative Assistant Undergraduate & Initial Certification kmlardner@alaska.edu 907-786-4412 PSB 224
Ed McLain, Ed.D. Associate Professor Graduate Studies & MEd emclain@alaska.edu 907-952-8940 PSB 206M
Mike Mueller, Ph.D. Professor Secondary Education mmueller4@alaska.edu 907-786-4429 PSB 223C
Erin Murray Administrative Assistant Dean's Office emmurray@alaska.edu 907-786-4331 PSB 234
Kathryn Ohle, Ph.D. Assistant Professor

Early Childhood Education

kohle@alaska.edu 907-786-4433 PSB 225B
Paul Ongtooguk, M.Ed. Term Assistant Professor CRANE pcongtooguk@alaska.edu 907-786-1906 PSB 209A
Irasema Ortega, Ph.D. Associate Professor Elementary & Language Education iortega2@alaska.edu 907-786-4454 PSB 224F
Gina Pastos, M.Ed. Term Assistant Professor Educational Leadership gpastos@alaska.edu 907-786-4335 PSB 206G
Karen Roth, M.Ed. Term Assistant Professor Early Childhood Education klroth@alaska.edu 907-786-1928 PSB 225E
Debra Preston Russ, Ph.D. Associate Professor Counselor Education dpruss@alaska.edu  907-786-4418 PSB 206J
Grant Sasse, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Counselor Education gmsasse@alaska.edu 907-786-6314 PSB 206K
Hilary Seitz, Ph.D. Professor Early Childhood Education hjseitz@alaska.edu 907-786-4872 PSB 225D
Peter Snow, Ed.D. Associate Professor Elementary Education Kenai River Campus KPC pmsnow@alaska.edu 907-262-0357 Ward 225
Peggy Spencer Term Assistant Professor Speech-Language Pathology mspencer@alaska.edu 907-786-4712 PSB 220C
Catherine Taylor Academic Success Coordinator Student Services cdtaylor5@alaska.edu 907-786-4494 PSB 218F
Katie Walker Advanced Education Technology Coordinator, Instructional Designer Dean's Office kmwalker@alaska.edu 907-786-4863 PSB 230
Cassie Wells, Ph.D. Term Assistant Professor Special Education cdwells@alaska.edu 907-786-4313 PSB 222B
Allison Wilson, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Early Childhood Education acwilson@alaska.edu 907-786-4403 PSB 225A
Carrie Ziolkowski Field Placement Coordinator Student Services cbziolkowski@alaska.edu 907-786-4516 PSB 218F

 

 College of Education Emerita Faculty

Appointment as professor emeritus or emerita is an honor conferred by the Chancellor, on just a small portion of retiring professors who have demonstrated excellence, following consideration of recommendations by the faculty, upon an outstanding retiree of the university.


College of Education
University of Alaska Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK99508
Professional Studies Building
Tel: 907-786-4613
Back to top