Contact Us

Welcome to HPER

UAA Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation


3211 Providence Drive
Eugene Short Hall, Room 103
Anchorage, AK 99508

Phone: 907-786-4083
Email: hper@alaska.edu

Schedule an Advising Appointment

 

Other Locations

The Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation offers courses at a number of locations, both on campus and off campus. Visit our Locations page for more information.

 

Employee Directory

Administration 

TJ Miller TJ Miller, M.Ed.
Director and Term Assistant Professor

ESH 103B | P: 907.786.4083
tjmiller@alaska.edu
         

Faculty  

Carl Arts Carl Arts, MS
Term Assistant Professor

ESH 103C | P: 907.786.4066
cjarts@alaska.edu
  Hoke Maryann Hoke, MS, CSCS
Assistant Professor
ESH 103F | P: 907.786.4088
mvhoke@alaska.edu
Marcey Jean Marcey, EdD, NSCA-CPT
Term Assistant Professor
ESH 103D | P: 907.786.4068
jmarcey@alaska.edu   
         

PEP Adjunct Faculty   

Jeff Dick Jeff Dick
jddick@alaska.edu
Leadership in Activities
for Diverse Populations
  Egan Nicolle Egan, MA
njegan@alaska.edu
Leadership in Activities
for Diverse Populations
Garlatz TJ Garlatz, MS
tj@alaska.edu
Movement Theory &
Motor Development
   Larue Pat Larue
hper@alaska.edu
First Aid & CPR for
Professionals
  Lynne Young, M.Ed., ATC, ITAT
lyoung58@alaska.edu
Prevention & Care of 
Activity Related Injuries;
Upper & Lower Body Injury 
Assessment Skills
     
         

 PER Adjunct Faculty   

Beaudoin Amy Beaudoin
abeaudoi@alaska.edu
Crevasse Rescue;
Mountaineering
  Quinn Bennett Quinn Bennett
qabennett@alaska.edu
Swimming
Harley Brown Harley Brown
khbrown@alaska.edu
Boxing
  Crawford Clarissa Crawford
ccrawford@alaska.edu
Zumba
Dahl Whitney Dahl
wldahl@alaska.edu
Sea Kayaking
  Becky Davis Becky Davis
bsdavis@alaska.edu
Indoor Stationary Cycling;
Fitness Cross Training
Gabel Laura Gabel
lmgabel@alaska.edu
Fitness for Life;
Circuit Training;
Shape Up with Weights
  Kelsey Gray Kelsey Gray
ktgray@alaska.edu
Climbing
Forto Robert Forto
mforto@alaska.edu
Multi-Sport Expedition;
Fat Biking
  Jackson Russell Jackson
rljacksonjr@alaska.edu
Aerobic Walking;
Aerobic Kickboxing
Kastar Jon Kastar
jjkastar@alaska.edu
Soccer
  Lynch Nick Lynch
ntlynch@alaska.edu
Tai Chi
Heather McCarthy Heather McCarthy
hdmccarthy@alaska.edu
Ice Skating
  Jennifer Mills Jennifer Mills
jsmills@alaska.edu
Pilates
Siri Moss Siri Moss
semoss@alaska.edu
Indoor Climbing
  Navarro Junland Navarro
jnavarro2@alaska.edu
Weight Lifting;
Human Performance Laboratory
Norris Lisbet Norris
lsnorris@alaska.edu
Mushing
  Doug Robbins Doug Robbins
dwrobbins@alaska.edu
Hockey
 Sorum  Margo Sorum
mcarls36@alaska.edu
Yoga
     
         

Staff

Kyra McKay

Kyra McKay
Employee Wellness
Practicum Coordinator
ESH 103F | P: 907.786.4006
kpmckay@alaska.edu

uaa.wellness@alaska.edu

  Nicola Nicola Pearson-Allen
Administrative Assistant for
Student & Program Support
ESH 103E | P: 907.786.4085
ncallen@alaska.edu

Navarro

Junland Navarro
Temporary Administrative Assistant 

for Student & Program Support
ESH 103 | P: 907.786.4083
jnavarro2@alaska.edu