Contact Us

Welcome to HPER

UAA Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation


3211 Providence Drive
Eugene Short Hall, Room 103
Anchorage, AK 99508

Phone: 907-786-4083
Email: hper@alaska.edu

Schedule an Advising Appointment

 

Other Locations

The Department of Health, Physical Education & Recreation offers courses at a number of locations, both on campus and off campus. Visit our Locations page for more information.

 

Employee Directory

Administration 

TJ Miller

TJ Miller, M.Ed.
Director and Term Assistant Professor

ESH 103B | P: 907.786.4083
tjmiller@alaska.edu
Zoom Office Hours: Thurdays 11am-12pm
Zoom Link: https://alaska.zoom. us/j/97541495053

         

Faculty  

Carl Arts Carl Arts, MS
Term Assistant Professor

ESH 103C | P: 907.786.4066
cjarts@alaska.edu
  Hoke Maryann Hoke, MS, CSCS
Assistant Professor
ESH 103F | P: 907.786.4088
mvhoke@alaska.edu
Marcey Jean Marcey, EdD, NSCA-CPT
Term Assistant Professor
ESH 103D | P: 907.786.4068
jmarcey@alaska.edu   
         

PEP Adjunct Faculty   

Jeff Dick Jeff Dick
jddick@alaska.edu
Leadership in Activities
for Diverse Populations
  Egan Nicolle Egan, MA
njegan@alaska.edu
Leadership in Activities
for Diverse Populations
Larue Pat Larue
hper@alaska.edu
First Aid & CPR for
Professionals
    Lynne Young, M.Ed., ATC, ITAT
lyoung58@alaska.edu
Prevention & Care of 
Activity Related Injuries;
Upper & Lower Body Injury 
Assessment Skills

 PER Adjunct Faculty   

Beaudoin Amy Beaudoin
abeaudoi@alaska.edu
Crevasse Rescue;
Mountaineering
  Harley Brown Harley Brown
khbrown@alaska.edu
Boxing
  Dure Chang
pchoe1@alaska.edu 

Tae Kwon Do; 
Self Defense

  Crawford Clarissa Crawford
ccrawford@alaska.edu
Zumba
Dahl Whitney Dahl
wldahl@alaska.edu
Sea Kayaking
  Becky Davis Becky Davis
bsdavis@alaska.edu
Indoor Stationary Cycling;
Fitness Cross Training
Forto Robert Forto
mforto@alaska.edu
Multi-Sport Expedition;
Fat Biking
  Gabel Laura Gabel
lmgabel@alaska.edu
Fitness for Life;
Circuit Training;
Shape Up with Weights
 
  Jackson Russell Jackson
rljacksonjr@alaska.edu
Aerobic Walking;
Aerobic Kickboxing
Kastar Jon Kastar
jjkastar@alaska.edu
Soccer
  Lynch Nick Lynch
ntlynch@alaska.edu
Tai Chi
Heather McCarthy Heather McCarthy
hdmccarthy@alaska.edu
Ice Skating
  Jennifer Mills Jennifer Mills
jsmills@alaska.edu
Pilates
Norris Lisbet Norris
lsnorris@alaska.edu
Mushing
    Jarod O'Brien
jobrien15@alaska.edu
Swimming
Doug Robbins Doug Robbins
dwrobbins@alaska.edu
Hockey
  Sorum Margo Sorum
mcarls36@alaska.edu
Yoga
  Eric Wickenheiser
emwickenheiser@alaska.edu 
Indoor Climbing
     

Staff

Kyra McKay

Kyra McKay
Employee Wellness
Practicum Coordinator
ESH 103F | P: 907.786.4006
kpmckay@alaska.edu

uaa.wellness@alaska.edu

  Navarro
Junland Navarro
Therapeutics Lab Coordinator
ESH 103 | P: 907.786.4083
jnavarro2@alaska.edu