Juvenile Detention in Alaska

Juvenile Detention in Alaska

Justice Center, University of Alaska Anchorage. (Summer 2006). "Juvenile Detention in Alaska ." Alaska Justice Forum 23(2): 3. The Alaska Division of Juvenile Justice operates 8 juvenile detention facilities and 16 probation offices, which are briefly described in this article. A map of facility and probation office location is also provided.

The state operates 8 juvenile facilities and 16 probation offices (Figure 1). Most juveniles taken into custody are detained for a only short period of time, with cases usually not resulting in long-term confinement. A few cases eventually do lead to longer-term confinement in a secure facility with a structured program.

According to the Division of Juvenile Justice, at the end of June 2006, 248 juveniles were being held in division facilities—on either a detention or long-term treatment basis. Overall, the facilities were at 84 percent of capacity but some of the individual facilities, such as those in Bethel, Kenai, and Ketchikan, were at capacity or above. McLaughlin Youth Center in Anchorage is the largest youth facility. At the end of June, it held 84 juveniles in the treatment program and 37 in the detention program.

[Note: Figures have been corrected from those originally published in this article.]

Figure 1. Alaska Division of Juvenile Justice Offices and Facilities