Seawolf Advisory!

On Dec. 11, our Facilities and Campus Services team was made aware of a pothole that shut down the westbound lanes of Northern Lights Boulevard between UAA Drive and Career Center Drive. It has since been upgraded to a sinkhole, and the lanes will remain closed for an undetermined amount of time while crews repair the damage. We anticipate the closure will extend through the week.

Finals week is a very stressful time for students. Students, please know that your professors have been made aware of the situation. Please communicate with them any delays you may experience due to this issue. We know this is an unexpected traffic challenge. Please take a deep breath. We want you to have a smooth and safe finals week.

Justice Center Faculty & Staff

Justice Center Faculty & Staff Directory

The Justice Center is relocating to the Professional Studies Building (PSB), Suite 234 effective Wednesday, August 21, 2019.
There will be no change to telephone numbers. See profile pages below for individual office locations.

Faculty | Affiliate Faculty | Emeritus Faculty
Professional & Research Staff | Support Staff

See current faculty office hours.

 Faculty

 
Rita Augustyn

Rita Augustyn, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (Criminology and Criminal Justice), University of Nebraska at Omaha, 2018

(907) 786-4302
rjaugustyn2@alaska.edu

Allan R. Barnes

Allan Barnes, Ph.D.
Professor

Ph.D. (Criminology), Florida State University, 1983

(907) 786-1819
arbarnes@alaska.edu

Jason Brandeis

Jason Brandeis, J.D.
Associate Professor

J.D., Vermont School of Law, 2001

(907) 786-1812
jbrandeis@alaska.edu

Sharon Chamard

Sharon Chamard, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), Rutgers-Newark, 2003

(907) 786-1813
sechamard@alaska.edu

Ronald S. Everett

Ronald S. Everett, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Ph.D. (Sociology), University of Pennsylvania, 1988

(907) 786-1820
rseverett@alaska.edu

Ryan Fortson

Ryan Fortson, J.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor

J.D., Stanford Law School, 2001
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Minnesota — Twin Cities, 2000

(907) 786-4886
hrfortson@alaska.edu

Ingrid Diane Johnson

Ingrid Diane Johnson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), Temple University, 2018

(907) 786-1126
idjohnson@alaska.edu

Kristin Knudsen

Kristin Knudsen, J.D., M.J.S.
Associate Professor

Undergraduate Program Coordinator, Legal Studies

J.D., Santa Clara University, 1978
M.J.S., University of Nevada Reno/National Judicial College, 2012

(907) 786-4885
kknudsen@alaska.edu

Yeungjeom Lee (photo not available)

Yeungjeom Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Ph.D. (Criminology, Law & Society), University of Florida, 2018

(907) 786-1856
ylee41@alaska.edu

Brad A. Myrstol

Brad A. Myrstol, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Director, Justice Center
Director, Alaska Justice Information Center (AJIC)

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), Indiana University, 2006

(907) 786-1837
bamyrstol@alaska.edu

Troy C. Payne

Troy C. Payne, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Associate Director, Alaska Justice Information Center

Ph.D. (Criminal Justice), University of Cincinnati, 2010

(907) 786-1816
tpayne9@alaska.edu

Deborah Periman

Deborah Periman, J.D.
Professor

J.D., Willamette University College of Law, 1985

(907) 786-1125
dkperiman@alaska.edu

Robert E. Henderson

Robert E. Henderson, J.D.
Assistant Professor

J.D., University of Montana Law School, 2001

(907) 786-1835
rehenderson@alaska.edu

Affiliate Faculty

 

Kathryn DuBois (photo not available)

Kathryn DuBois, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Washington State University Vancouver, Criminal Justice

Ph.D. (Criminology), Simon Fraser University, 1997

(360) 546-9255
kathryn.dubois@wsu.edu

Angela Gover

Angela Gover, Ph.D.
Professor

Director, Undergraduate Program in Criminal Justice
University of Colorado Denver — School of Public Affairs

Ph.D. (Criminology and Criminal Justice), University of Maryland College Park, 2000

(303) 315-2474
Angela.Gover@ucdenver.edu

Emeritus Faculty

 
John E. Angell

John E. Angell, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1975

ahjea@alaska.edu

Robert Congdon

Robert Congdon, J.D.
Professor Emeritus

J.D., Willamette University College of Law, 1982

(photo by Erik Hill)

afrec@alaska.edu

Professional & Research Staff

 

Andrew Gonzalez

Andrew Gonzalez
Research Professional

Alaska Justice Information Center

B.A. (Psychology), Luther College, 2012

(907) 786-0403
ajgonzalez5@alaska.edu

Yevgenii Kisarauskas

Yevgenii Kisarauskas
Research Professional

Alaska Justice Information Center

B.A. (Justice), University of Alaska Anchorage, 2013
B.A. (Psychology), University of Alaska Anchorage, 2016
M.S. (Criminal Justice), University of Cincinnati, 2018

(907) 786-1809
yvkisarauskas@alaska.edu

Henry Randolph

Henry Randolph
Editor & Communications Coordinator

B.A. (English Literature), University of Virginia, 2003

(907) 786-1815
hcrandolph@alaska.edu

Avram Slone

Avram Slone
Research Professional

Alaska Justice Information Center

B.A. (Sociology, English Literature), Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania, 2016
M.A. (Sociology) University of Kansas, 2018

(907) 786-0325
akslone@alaska.edu

Araceli Valle

Araceli Valle, Ph.D.
Research Professional

Associate Director, Alaska Justice Information Center

Ph.D. (Developmental Psychology), University of California Santa Cruz, 2005;
M.S. (EE Computer Engineering), Stanford University, 1980

(907) 786-4881
avalle@alaska.edu

Support Staff

 

Melissa S. Green

Melissa S. Green
Publications Specialist, Web Manager

(907) 786-1833
msgreen@alaska.edu

Amy Perkins

Amy Perkins
Fiscal Technician

(907) 786-1814
asperkins@alaska.edu

Jo Walker (photo not available)

Jo Walker
Academic Program Specialist

(907) 786-1811
jlwalker2@alaska.edu