Delta Omega Honor Society

Each year, the Gamma Iota Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health at the University of Alaska Anchorage elects new students, faculty, alumni, and honorary members based on high academic standards and outstanding performance in scholarship, teaching, research, and community service. Election of membership in Delta Omega is intended to not only recognize merit, but also to encourage and further excellence in, and devotion to, public health work.

Founded in 1924, Delta Omega is a national honor society existing to encourage research and scholarship among graduate students of public health, and to recognize attainment and achievement in the field of public health. With over 50 active chapters, Delta Omega and its members are dedicated to ensuring the quality of the field of public health and to the protection and advancement of the health of all people.

Inducted January 2019


  • Dr. Ellen Provost


  • Joy Britt
  • Arlene Patuc

Inducted April 2018


  • Tammy Choromanski (2017)
  • Sarah Stevens (2017)


  • Dr. Jay Butler


  • Gail Schiemann (2005)
  • Desire' Shepler (2010)
  • Marc Deede (2012)

View previous Delta Omega inductees.

For more information about the Delta Omega Honor Society, visit the National Chapter web site.