Graduate Council

UAA's Graduate Council advises the Dean of the Graduate School in policy matters and promotes general advocacy of programs throughout the University community. The Council reviews, determines and recommends policies for graduate programs. Its members consist of graduate chairs and directors, plus a representative from the Graduate Student Association. Graduate Council meets the third* Friday of each month from September through April. 

2017-2018 Graduate Council Members

Unit Affilitation Name  College Room Contact Information
Dietetics & Nutrition Amanda Walch, Chair  Health  PSB 119B  786-1362  
Social Work Mary Dallas Allen, Vice -Chair  Health  GHH 106  786-6992
Civil Eng & Mech Eng  Aaron Dotson Engineering EIB 301Q 786-6041
Graduate Student Association Bionne Elkins Arts & Sciences SSB 303
Special Education Cassie Wells Education PSB 222B 786-4910
English Clare Dannenberg Arts & Sciences ADM 101L 786-4386
Creative Writing & Literary Arts David Stevenson Arts & Sciences ADM 272 786-6435
Public Health  Gabe Garcia Health  BOC3/233 786-6532
Psycholgy MS Grant Saase Arts & Sciences NSB ? 786-6314          
Public Policy Greg Protasel Business & Public Policy RH 307A 786-1786     
Nursing Jill Janke Health HSB 321 786-4570         
Biological Sciences Jonathan Stecyk Arts & Sciences  CPISB 201L 786-4791       
Eng/Sci Mgmt & Project Mgmt  LuAnn Piccard Engineering EIB 201X 786-1917
Anthropology sally Carraher Arts & Sciences BMH 205 786-1568
Applied Geological Sciences Simon Kattenhorn Arts & Sciences CPISB 101G 786-0313
CBPP Graduate Programs Terry Nelson Business & Public Policy RH 308A 786-4140
Teachng & Learning Tim Jester Education PSB 224D 786-1666
Psychology PhD Vivian Gonzalez Arts & Sciences SSB 303J 786- 6779 
Ex-Officio Members Name Title/Affiliation  
Graduate School Dr. Helena Wisniewski Dean BOC3/368 786-4833
Graduate School Elisa Mattison Director BOC3/368 786-1096
Graduate Academic Board Anthony Paris Chair EIB 409H 786-1912
Office of the Registrar Alyona Selhay Assistant Registrar UC 201 786-1553
Office of Admissions Cathy Ewing Director UC 106A 786-1558

Scheduled Meeting Dates /Time 1:30 pm to 2:30 pm
unless otherwise arranged due to academic calendar scheduling issues

  • 2016-2017 Year in Review
  • November Meeting Ancillary Materials
    • Director's Report (Elisa)
    • Registrar's Report (Alyona) & Admissions Report (Cathy)
Fall 2017 - RH 204
Spring 2018 - TBA
September 22*
January 26*
October 20
February 16
November 17
March 23*
December 15
April 20


Back to top