Technology Fellows


What's happening in 2017

Technology Fellows Banner Image


This year the Technology Fellows program will focus on community and mentorship. We will meet September 15th, to brainstorm, discuss projects and research and formulate ways to continue collaboration efforts to support online teaching and learning at UAA.

Please REGISTER HERE to participate in the getting ready survey, add thoughts and ideas of how the Tech Fellows community may assist your online teaching and learning or research projects as we move forward together in this journey. If you have questions please contact Lara Madden at

AI&e Innovations Showcase Logo ImageVisit AI&e's Innovation Showcase to find out what your faculty peers are doing in innovative course design projects across campus and and beyond:

Current faculty featured:

  • Naomi Everett, Chef, Community & Technical College
  • Toby Long, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Kenai Peninsula College
  • Elizabeth Dennison, Professor of History, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Dr. Veronica Howard, Assistant Professor of Psychology, Collge of Arts & Sciences

Nominate a Fellow's Project for the Showcase:
Nomination Form


The Technology Fellows program was built to encourage and foster student achievement through the use of technology engaged learning with faculty and staff at UAA. While the central purpose of the Technology Fellows program is on course redesign, each year we select a specific focus to encourage faculty to continually build and expand new skills, interests and abilities. 

  • Open to all tenured track and term faculty.
  • Rural campus applicants are welcome, though we do not anticipate having a travel budget available this year.
  • Must be willing to implement course design strategies in an online course environment.
  • Must be willing to formulate and carry out one of the following:
    • a Making Learning Visible (MLV) SoTL project analyzing an evidence-based learning intervention or strategy to publication.
    • Full online, hybrid or blended course design & development for a upcoming course.
  • Participant must submit course design for review in EduPass: Course Design & Development certification community within the two-year time committment
  • Participant must attend all required training intensives and workshops as listed in the training calendar.

CAFE’s Making Learning Visible (MLV) program is UAA’s Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) initiative. The program gives faculty an opportunity to not only improve their expertise in the field, but to develop pedagogical expertise, too.  It is designed to help faculty assess the efficacy of classroom strategies, document the effectiveness of their teaching, share effective strategies with peers, and demonstrate exemplary teaching in professional contexts such as the promotion and tenure portfolio. 

EduPass: Course Design & Development Certification is the process to submit and become certified as an online course design expert at University of Alaska Anchorage. Upon completion faculty receive recognition through the EduPass Badges as certification of expertise, completion and testamonial of time and committment to student success based on their work.

New applications for the 2018 Co-hort will be available in April 2017.

Academic Innovations & eLearning

UAA/APU Consortium Library, 215 | 3211 Providence Drive | Anchorage, Alaska 99508
(907) 786-4496 | | Mon–Fri, 8a–5p 

Back to top