Community Engaged Faculty Scholars

UAA has many Community-Engaged Faculty Scholars. Please review the profiles below to see what engaged teaching, research, or creative activity our faculty are involved in.  Feel free to contact the faculty directly to make connections!

Sally Carraher
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
BMH 205
Phone: (907) 786-1568
Email: sfcarraher@alaska.edu
Diwakar K. Vadapalli
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor of Public Policy, Institute of Social and Economic Research        
BOC3 327
Phone: (907) 786-5422
Email: dkvadapalli@alaska.edu
Rebecca Volino Robinson
Photo of Name:
Kathryn A. Ohle
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education, Teaching & Learning
PSB 225B
Phone: (907) 786-4433
Email: kohle@alaska.edu
Website: https://alaska.digication.com/coe_dr_kathryn_ohle/Bio/
Andre Rosay
Photo of Name:
James Fitterling
Photo of Name:
UAA Program Director, Ph.D. Program in Clinical-Community Psychology, Psychology Dept.
SSB 303G
Phone: (907) 786-1580 
Email: jfitterling@alaska.edu
Website: https://www.uaa.alaska.edu/academics/college-of-arts-and-sciences/departments/psychology/faculty/fitterling.cshtml
Mary Dallas Allen, PhD, MSW
Photo of Name:
Associate Professor, School of Social Work
GHH 106
Phone: (907) 786-6992 
Email: mallen42@alaska.edu
Mychal Machado
Photo of Name:
Hattie Harvey
Photo of Name:
Tracey Burke
Photo of Name:
Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work
GHH 106
Phone: (907) 786-6905 
Email: tkburke@alaska.edu
Osama Abaza
Photo of Name:
Professor, Civil Engineering
EIB 301L
Phone: (907) 786-6117
Email: oabaza@alaska.edu
Website: http://www.cse.uaa.alaska.edu/capstone/
Shannon Donovan
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor, Department of Geography and Environmental Studies
PSB 102J
Phone: (907) 786-6052
Email: smdonovan@alaska.edu
Cikigaq-Irasema Ortega
Photo of Name:
Associate Professor of Science Education, College of Education-Graduate Studies
PSB 224F
Phone: (907) 786-4454
Email: iortega2@alaska.edu
Website: https://alaska.digication.com/cikigaq_irasema_ortega/Welcome/
Elizabeth Hodges Snyder
Photo of Name:
Associate Professor of Public Health, Health Sciences
BOC3 231
Phone: (907) 786-6541
Email: ehodges4@alaska.edu
Gabriel Garcia
Photo of Name:
Associate Professor of Public Health, Health Sciences
BOC3 233
Phone: (907) 786-6532
Email: ggarci16@alaska.edu
Terry A. Nelson
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor of Leadership, Management & Marketing Department/College of Business and Public Policy
RH 308B
Phone: (907) 786-1947
Email: tnelson15@alaska.edu
Heather Brook Adams
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor, English
ADM 103K
Phone: (907) 786-4369
Email: hbadams@alaska.edu
Brian Cook
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor, Theatre and Dance
ARTS 327
Phone: (907) 786-1794
Email: bcook25@alaska.edu
Nova Cunningham
Photo of Name:
Assistant Professor/Acting, Directing, Community Outreach, Dept of Theatre & Dance
ARTS 328
Phone: (907) 786-4706
Email: ntcunningham@alaska.edu
Website: https://www.uaa.alaska.edu/academics/college-of-arts-and-sciences/departments/theatre-and-dance/faculty/cunningham.cshtml
Kathi Trawver
Photo of Name:
Associate Professor
GHH 106
Phone: (907) 786-6915
Email: krtrawver@alaska.edu
Rhonda M. Johnson
Photo of Name:
Marsha A Olson
Photo of Name:

Please feel free to contact the Center for Community Engagement & Learning with any questions or if you would like further assistance in making a connection with faculty at UAA.  uaa.ccel@alaska.edu or 786-4062

Back to top