2018 Innovate Awards


I am pleased to announce the seventh annual INNOVATE Awards for calendar year 2018. From 2012 through 2017 the awards have supported 64 projects in diverse areas across throughout UAA including: Business and Public Policy, Health Sciences, Biological Sciences, Engineering, Astronomy, Theatre and Dance, English, Psychology and WWAMI, both interdisciplinary teams and individuals. The recipients of previous INNOVATE Awards have achieved many successes which include externally funded grants resulting in a 6:1 return on research investment, a proposal award success rate that is 2.5 times higher than the National Average, publications in peer reviewed journals, patents, and formed the foundation for the first four UAA’s start-up companies. Our previous recipients are featured on our website at www.uaa.alaska.edu/innovate. I am looking forward to receiving even more proposals this year and hearing about your exciting ideas.

The purpose of the INNOVATE Awards is to inspire and encourage new research, creative works and innovation at UAA by providing funds that will lead to creative achievements, publications, intellectual property, and/or external grants. The awards are designed to encourage individual research as well as multi-departmental research teams. INNOVATE awards will provide an opportunity for mentorship of and research engagement for junior faculty.

The INNOVATE Awards will be made through a competitive process, and all tenured and tenure-track faculty and research professionals are encouraged to apply. Proposals from all disciplines are welcome. Please note that your department head and your Dean must sign your submission Form.

The above documents include a proposal submission form, guidelines for submission, review criteria, and a list of frequently asked questions. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. Your completed submission forms and application packets are due on Friday, November 3, 2017, and should be emailed to Dr. Helena S. Wisniewski: hswisniewski@alaska.edu

I look forward to receiving many exciting proposals, and I wish you every success.

Best regards,


Dr. Helena S. Wisniewski, FNAI
Vice Provost for Research & Graduate Studies
Founding Director, ADAC;
President Seawolf Holdings, LLC
University of Alaska Anchorage
Fellow, National Academy of Inventors



Back to top