Western Region Exchange Programs (WUE & WRGP)

Anchorage fall and Chugach mountains.

Western Region Exchange Programs (WUE & WRGP)

The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) and the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) are reduced tuition programs for western-region out-of-state students.


Undergraduate students who qualify for the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program pay 150% of the in-state tuition rate. 

WUE Applicationoptional hidden text

All undergraduates from WUE states are eligible to pay 150% of in-state tuition.

Graduate students who qualify for the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) pay the in-state tuition rate on select participating programs.

WRGP Applicationoptional hidden text

All degree-seeking graduate students from WICHE states are eligible to pay in-state resident tuition.

Participating Graduate Programs

  • Clinical-Community Psychology (Ph.D. program only)
  • Early Childhood Special Education - MED
  • Global Supply Chain Management - MS
  • Nursing Science - MS
  • Project Management - MS
  • Social Work - MSW

To qualify, students must:

  1. Be admitted to UAA
  2. Be a resident of a participating state, U.S. territory, or freely associated state.
  3. Submit the WUE or WRGP application with supporting documents.

Important note: Time attended as a WUE or WRGP student does not count toward the time required for establishing Alaska residency

Participating States

All UAA undergraduate programs participate in WUE.

In addition to states on the map, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and other U.S. Pacific Territories & Freely Associated States participate in WUE and WRGP.

Map of WUE participating states.

Apply for WUE/WRGP

WUE and WRGP applicants must first be admitted to a UAA Program, then submit the application below with supporting documents.

Undergraduate WUE ApplicationUndergraduate WUE Appliation Graduate WRGP ApplicationGraduate WRGP application

Supporting Documentation

Applicants must provide two documents  that prove that they are residing and/or working in a WUE eligible state. Documents must be in the student's name to prove their residency. Examples include:
  • Voter Registration
  • Vehicle Registration
  • Proof of insurance
  • Enlarged copy of your driver's license or State ID
  • State (not federal) income tax return (yours or your parent's if you're a dependent on their return) 
  • Utility Bills
  • Mortgage or Rental Agreement

Additional Questions

  • Mail

    UAA Office of Admissions
    3211 Providence Drive, UC 106
    Anchorage, AK 99508-4614

  • In Person

    University Center - Map
    3901 Old Seward Highway
    Anchorage, Alaska 99503 

Back to top