Visit the WWAMI web site.

WWAMI is a collaborative medical school among universities in five northwestern states, Washington, Wyoming, Alaska, Montana, and Idaho and the University of Washington School of Medicine.

The Alaska WWAMI Program began at the University of Alaska Fairbanks (as WAMI) in 1971. The program moved to the University of Alaska Anchorage in 1989. Historically, ten Alaska residents were admitted to the Alaska WWAMI program each year. However, through the combined efforts of the Alaska WWAMI Program, the University of Alaska, and the Alaska legislature, the Alaska WWAMI class size has been doubled.

Prospective students apply to the University of Washington School of Medicine; upon admission, Alaska's WWAMI students complete their first year of medical school at the University of Alaska Anchorage. The first year of training includes courses in basic sciences and an introduction to clinical medicine.