University Honors College Advisory Board | University Honors Council
Task Force on Undergraduate Research & Scholarship | University Honors Student Advisory Board

The University Honors College governance structure consists of four advisory groups appointed by the Honors College Dean.


University Honors College Advisory Board

The University Honors College Advisory Board is an external community advisory body to the Honors College Dean.

Chair: Sarah Barton

Margie Brown
Larry Cash
William Clark, MD
Chris Dyke, MD
Sharon Gagnon, Ph.D
Alex Hills, Ph.D.
Diane Kaplan
Bill McKay
Brian Meissner
Tom Nighswander, MD                     
Deena Paramo, Ph.D
Wendy Redman
Marilyn Romano
Rita Sholton


University Honors College Council

The University Honors College Council serves as the primary governance body for the College. It advises the Honors College Dean in all matters including curriculum development, program review, and assessment.

Chair: Rob Lang, Professor, Engineering

Vice Chair: Maureen O’Malley, Associate Dean, School of Nursing

Claudia Dybdahl, Professor, Education
Lynn Koshiyama, Professor, Business Accounting
Claudia Lampman, Professor, Psychology
Kenrick Mock, Professor, Computer Science    
David Pfeiffer, Honors College Director of Undergraduate Research and Professor, Biological Sciences
Karen Schmitt, Dean, Community Technical College


Task Force for Undergraduate Research & Scholarship

"Creating an institution of first choice for Alaskans requires the development of an institutional culture of discovery--research and creativity-- at the University of Alaska Anchorage.  Discovery, engagement, and accountability are central to the success of UAA as an institution of first choice. Incorporating discovery into the entry level of higher education represents a paradigm shift meant to engage students in the process of critical thinking, inquiry, and systematic research early in their experience to help mold objectivity, creativity and civic responsibility in our graduates."

-- Task Force Recommendation (2002)

The Task Force on Undergraduate Research and Scholarship is charged with making recommendations to the Dean for creating and implementing opportunities for the following:

  • Fostering undergraduate research as an integral element of the undergraduate experience at UAA
  • Promoting a culture of inspired learning and engaged teaching through the integration of research and scholarship across the curriculum
  • Developing, highlighting and supporting an active pool of faculty mentors across all UAA schools and colleges
  • Developing approaches to enhance and coordinate existing undergraduate research and scholarship  programs and the funding for those programs
  • Promoting the participation of students and faculty mentors in the Undergraduate Research  & Discovery Symposium
  • Providing leadership to advance faculty opportunities and incentives to integrate research/creative activities inside and outside of their classrooms

2012-2013 Task Force for Undergraduate Research & Scholarship

Chair: David Pfeiffer, Honors College Director of Undergraduate Research & Scholarship and Professor, Biological Sciences
Faculty Associate: Kenrick Mock, Professor, Computer Science

Jonathan Alevy, Assistant Professor, Economics
Muhammad Ali, Associate Professor, Engineering
Anna Bjartmarsdottir, Assistant Professor, Consortium Library
Deborah Boege-Tobin, Associate Professor,Biological Sciences, Kenai Peninsula College
Page Brannon, Associate Professor, Consortium Library
Gwen Lupfer-Johnson, Associate Professor, Psychology

Jennifer McFerran-Brock, Assistant Professor, Engineering
Francisco Miranda, Associate Professor, Languages
Anthony Paris, Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
Troy Payne, Assistant Professor, Justice
Sharyl Toscano, Associate Professor, Nursing
Joel Condon, Assistant Professor, Architectural & Engineering Technology
Diane Hirshberg, Associate Professor, ISER
Martin Cenek, Assistant Professor, Computer Science
Steve Konkel, Associate Professor, Health Sciences
Herminia Din, Associate Professor, Art
Deborah Mole, Associate Professor, Consortium Libary
Yasuhiro Ozuru, Assistant Professor, Psychology
Nadine Parker, Assistant Professor,  Nursing
Susan Gray, Student Representative


University Honors Student Advisory Board

The University Honors Student Advisory Board (UHSAB) advises the Dean of the University Honors College concerning academic and student activities issues and integrates the student voice into the vision and development of the College.

Qualifications for UHSAB Membership:

Members of the Board are UHC students selected by the Dean of the University Honors College. Students must be of good character and possess strong leadership skills and school spirit. They must maintain a 3.3 GPA or higher. Once a student is a member of the Board, she/he must regularly attend Board meetings and advance Board initiatives.