Advising

Selecting a Mathematics Course (for Non-Majors)

If you need advising on which mathematics course to take, please contact the Department of Mathematical Sciences. Any faculty member can assist you in choosing the appropriate class. If you are taking a mathematics course, feel free to ask your instructor about which course to take next. You can also visit or call the department and ask to see an available faculty member.

Advising for Majors and Minors

Every mathematics major is assigned an academic faculty advisor. Mathematics minors should contact their major department to locate their advisor, but may also talk to faculty in mathematics for assistance in planning their minor. The advisor will help the student plan schedules and meet all necessary graduation requirements.

The following is a list of professors that are available in our department to answer your questions.  You are free to select your own advisor from the list below.  Each professor sets up his or her own appointments.

Mathematics (BA, BS, Minor, General):
Dr. Mark Fitch,            786-1656, mafitch@uaa.alaska.edu
Dr. Larry Foster,          786-4868, lmfoster@uaa.alaska.edu
Dr. Alberta Harder,      786-1748, amharder@uaa.alasks.edu
Dr. Deborah Narang,    786-1312, dlnarang@uaa.alaska.edu
Dr. Kamal Narang,       786-1150, knarang@uaa.alaska.edu
Dr. Leonard Smiley,     786-1963, lmsmiley@uaa.alaska.edu
Dr. Sam Cook,            786-1743, samcook@uaa.alask.edu

 

Mathematics (General Questions):
Prof Joan Haig,             786-1995, jmhaig@uaa.alaska.edu

Prof. Robert McCoy,      786-1652, afrom@uaa.alaska.edu

 

Statistics (Minor):
Dr. Sam Thiru,              786-1958, kthiru@uaa.alaska.edu

Dr. Rieken Venema       786-4854, rvenema@uaa.alaska.edu

 Please direct your questions for Mathematical Education Certification to the School of Education at 786-4400.

 If you have any general questions regarding the Mathematical Sciences Programs, please feel free to contact us at 786-1744.  We appreciate you interest in the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Freshmen Majors

Incoming freshman who want to talk to an advisor should contact the Department of Mathematical Sciences and ask to talk to an advisor. You will be directed to an available faculty member.