Call for faculty applications for Canadian-oriented work

by Kathleen McCoy  |   

In 2004, the University of Alaska Anchorage announced the creation of the Elizabeth Tower Endowment for Canadian Studies. The goal of this endowment is to increase the visibility of Canadian studies at UAA and in the community and to improve opportunities for faculty who support Canadian Studies at UAA.

This year the endowment committee has dedicated funds to support UAA faculty who wish to pursue Canada-oriented research and projects. Tower funds will provide up to $2500 to a successful proposal. Activities might include, but are not limited to, archival or other research in Canada, development of Canadian related resources at UAA, or attending a Canadian or Canadian Studies conference. Tower Endowment Funds may also be used to bring scholars and speakers of interest to Canadian Studies to the University. Funding is available to faculty from all disciplines. These funds will be made available on a case-by-case basis to faculty who have demonstrated an interest in Canada and who will develop Canadian content in their courses. Recipients will be asked to present or report on their activities in a public forum.

If you are interested in applying for funding, please write a letter to the members of Elizabeth Tower Endowment Committee stating your name, department and position at UAA. Please also provide:

  • A description of your interest in Canadian Studies.
  • Explanation of the nature of the project you wish to pursue.
  • Estimated budget.
  • Explanation of how this project will advance the study of Canada and Canadian Studies at UAA.

Electronic submissions are encouraged. The proposal must be received by March 13.

Address application letters to:
Dr. Elizabeth James, Chair
Elizabeth Tower Endowment for Canadian Studies
Department of History
University of Alaska Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508
(907) 786-1624

Creative Commons License "Call for faculty applications for Canadian-oriented work" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.