Three UAA academics join Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame Class of 2013

by Ted Kincaid  |   

Women's Hall of Fame

In February the Alaska Women's Hall of Fame welcomed the Class of 2013. Of the 15 notable inductees, three have enduring histories with UAA: Political Science Professor Emeritus Diddy Hitchins; Dorothy Jones, retired Institute for Social and Economic Research sociology professor; and Carolyn Covington (M.Ed. '77), an alum and retired Mat-Su College professor.

Professor Emeritus Diddy Hitchins, who taught at UAA for 30 years, was honored for Achievement in Political Science and International Relations Education. Dorothy Jones spent 13 years with ISER and was recognized for Achievement in Anthropology of Aleut Communities and Women's Therapy. Carolyn Covington earned her M.Ed. in vocational education from UAA and later taught at Mat-Su College for 10 years and was acknowledged for Achievement in Education, Political Activism and Community Service. Read full bios of all the honorees here. Their hard work and passion have helped to shape Alaska well beyond our college campuses. Congratulations to all the 2013 inductees!

Creative Commons License "Three UAA academics join Alaska Women’s Hall of Fame Class of 2013" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.