2005 Discovery Award winner Randy Tedor is congratulated by Ernie Hall at the 2005 Undergraduate Research and Discovery Symposium.

Ernie Hall (UAA College of Fellows)
congratulates Discovery Award recipient Randy Tedor.

Discovery Awards recognize one UAA undergraduate student each year who exemplifies overall academic excellence that must include exceptional achievement in research or creative activities with a $2,000 cash prize.

Deadline: Students are nominated for this award on a year-round basis. The Discovery Award Committee meets during the second week in February of each academic year to consider the nominations. Applications received after the committee meeting will be considered for the following academic year.

Online Nomination Process
Students cannot apply for this award; they must be nominated by their academic departments or a subcommittee thereof. Completed nominations should be emailed to uaa_research@uaa.alaska.edu.  Only one student may be nominated per degree-granting program.

Eligibility: Nominee must be admitted to UAA as an undergraduate degree-seeking student and having junior or senior standing.

Required information: Nominations must include:

  • Student’s name
  • Student’s ID number
  • Student’s email address and phone number
  • Nominator’s email address and phone number
  • Nominator’s working relationship with the student
  • Evidence of the student’s exemplary research or creative activity:
    • A description of the student’s specific level of participation in research project(s) or creative activities
    • Were the results of project(s) presented or performed?
    • Were the results of the project(s) published?
    • Have any UAA or external awards recognized the student’s research or creative activities?
    • Has student’s research or creative activities received funding?

Previous Discovery Award Winners

2012-2013  Wolfram Donat (BS Engineering), Lilan Smith (BS Engineering)

2011-2012 Andrew Cochrane (BS Engineering)

2010-2011 Tessa Kara (BSE Mechanical Engineering)

2009-2010 Amy Voss (BA Languages), Stephen Wolfe (BS Natural Sciences)

Special Recognition Amy Ellerbe (BA Psychology)    

2008-2009 Kelcie Ralph (BS Economics)

2007-2008 Mindy Graham (BS Chemistry)       

2006-2007 Cody Augdahl (BS Biological Sciences), Summer Engler (BS Biological Sciences)

2005-2006 G. Matthew Snodgrass (BA Justice)

2004-2005 Randy Tedor (BS Interdisciplinary Studies)

2003-2004 Laura Gardner (BS Psychology)

2002-2003 Meghan Aube  (BM Music Performance)