Parking Permits - General
Why do I have to pay for a permit?
In order to raise sufficient funds each year to maintain the parking lots, the University of Alaska Anchorage utilizes the permit system for parking on the Anchorage campus. Vehicles parked on campus must display either a valid parking permit, day pass, Pay 'n Park receipt, or utilize on of the metered parking spaces.
How do I purchase a parking permit?
Permits can be purchased online at The Permit Store. Parking permits can also be purchased in the Parking Services office. The Parking Services office is located in the basement of the Bookstore. The office is open Monday-Friday 8:30 am-5:00 pm.
How do I purchase my permit when I paid with my UAOnline / Student Account?
Once you have applied a permit to your student account, you will still have to go to The Permit Store to finish the application process. You will set up or log into your account and enter all your vehicle information. When you are asked for your payment type, you will select "Student Account" from the drop down list of payment types.
How do I replace a lost or stolen permit?
Come into that Parking Services office and fill out paperwork reporting your permit lost/stolen. Once you have submitted the paperwork we will reissue you a permit for $10. This cancels the old permit and gives you a new permit. If your old permit is found on campus we will alert UPD that we have located the stolen permit.
What do I do until I receive my permit in the mail?
You need to print a temporary permit. To print a temporary permit, you will go to The Permit Store.
The Temporary Permit will expire. If you do not receive your permit by the time it expires, please contact Parking Services at (907) 786-1119.
How do I add another vehicle to my permit?
To add another vehicle, you will go to The Permit Store.
Make sure to place the permit in the driver's side window of the vehicle you are driving onto campus.
Enforcement & Citations
When are parking rules enforced?
Permit and meter enforcement is Monday-Thursday 7:30 am-7:30 pm while classes are in session. All other parking regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Permits and meters are not enforced when the University is closed.
How do I pay a citation?
There are three options to paying your citation. First, pay online at The Permit Store. Second, pay in person at our office, in the basement of the Bookstore. Third, pay by check or money order, made payable to UAA, through the mail or by dropping it in one of our drop-boxes. Drop-boxes are located in the Eugene Short Hall and outside the Bookstore. Be sure to write the citation number and your license plate number on the check or money order.
How long do I have to pay my citation?
You have 14 days to pay the citation before a $25 late fee is added to the fine. After 14 days from the date of issuance one or more of the following actions will occur:
How much are citations?
Citations range from $35 to $500 depending on the violation.
I wasn't driving the vehicle at the time, why do I have to pay?
Since we do not know who was driving the vehicle at the time of the citation, the registered owner of the vehicle is responsible for either paying or appealing the citation. The ultimate responsibility of the debt belongs to the registered owner of the vehicle per Alaska Motor Vehicle Statutes.
I don't agree with the citation, what can I do?
You may submit an initial appeal online at The Permit Store within 14 calendar days. Be sure to include your correct email address, phone number, and the citation number.
Why was my car booted or impounded?
Vehicles on UAA property may be booted if the vehicle has three or more outstanding citations. The charge for the "boot" is $50.00. Failure to resolve the citations may result in the commercial towing of the vehicle from campus at the owner's expense. Unauthorized removal of, or damage to, an immobilization device is a criminal offense.