Coronavirus information

In response to the COVID-19 global pandemic, the University of Alaska Anchorage has taken steps to protect the health and safety of our campus community. Visit the University of Alaska Coronavirus Information website to learn how UAA and the university system are responding to this situation. Find links to communications, policy guidance, resources and information about the university's community restrictions, which apply to all faculty, staff and students. The UAA Student Health and Counseling Center remains open at this time to serve UAA students. For information about COVID-19 symptoms and current health recommendations, visit the CDC website and the Alaska Department of Health and Social Services.


Meetings & Membership

IRB meetings AY 2019-2020

When:The Institutional Review Board (IRB) meets the third Friday of each month during the academic year (see below for actual dates).
Where: Social Sciences Building, room 302 , or in a videoconference format. 
When: 1:30 p.m.

Note: The IRB agenda is finalized two weeks prior to the meeting. IRB studies requiring full board review must be determined to be Administratively Complete at least two weeks prior to the IRB meeting. Incomplete submissions will be delayed to a later agenda once the submission package has been determined to be Administratively Complete.

Meeting Dates: 

Summer meetings are subject to necessity and the ability to make quorum. 

Semester IRB Meeting Dates
Spring 2020 January 17 February 21 March 20 April 17  May 7th (Thurs)
(Submission Deadline of April 30th, 12pm)

Summer 2020 TBD TBD      
Fall 2020 August 21 September 18 October 16 November 20 December 18

IRB Committee Members:

Committee Member Affiliation Contact Information
Dr. Robert Boeckmann, Chairperson Professor
Psychology Department
rjboeckmann@alaska.edu
907-786-1793
Dr. Stephanie Bauer Associate Professor
Philosophy Department
slbauer@alaska.edu
907-786-4677
Dr. Gloria Eldridge Professor
Psychology Department
gdeldridge@alaska.edu
907-786-1623
Dr. Ronald Everett Associate Professor
Justice Center
rseverett@alaska.edu
907-786-1820
Dr. Chad Farrell Professor
Sociology Department
crfarrell@alaska.edu
907-786-1759
Ms. Rosyland Frazier Sr. Research Professional
Institute of Social & Economic Research (ISER)
rrfrazier@alaska.edu
907-786-5432
Ms. Marla Greenstein Non-Affiliated Member mgreenstein@acjc.state.ak.us
907-272-1033
Dr. Virgene Hanna Non-Affiliated Member  
Dr. Travis Hedwig Assistant Professor of Health Sciences
Health Sciences Department
thhedwig@alaska.edu
907-786-6524
Dr. Lance Howe Associate Professor
Economics & Public Policy Department
elhowe@alaska.edu
907-786-5409
Dr. David Tarcy Non-Affiliated Member  
Dr. Angelia Trujillo Associate Professor
School of Nursing
actrujillo@alaska.edu
907-786-4693
Ms. Sharon Smith Non-Affiliated Member
Correctional Psychology