Medical College Admission Test (MCAT)

The Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) is a standardized, multiple-choice examination that is designed to assist medical school admission committees in predicting which of their applicants will perform adequately in the medical school curriculum. Now administered electronically, it assesses examinees' problem solving, critical thinking, and writing skills in addition to their knowledge of scientific concepts and principles prerequisite to the study of medicine.

Nearly all U.S. medical schools require submission of MCAT scores upon application. Most medical schools receive applicants' MCAT scores via AMCAS (American Medical College Application Service).

The 2015 MCAT is scored in each of the following areas:
  • Biological and biochemical Foundations of Living Systems
  • Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems
  • Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior
  • Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills


MCAT Website

Register on-line for the MCAT  

MCAT Test Day
and Security



More Information about the MCAT
  • Applicants to the E2016 Alaska WWAMI class must submit scores from the 2013, 2014, or 2015 Medical College Admission Test (MCAT), and must have taken the MCAT prior to Sept. 30, 2015.
  • Many medical schools will not accept MCAT scores that are more than three years old.
  • The MCAT may be taken up to three times in a one-year period.
  • The UAA Pre-Med Club occasionally offers study sessions and MCAT practice tests.