Clinical Phase

During the Clinical Phase (formerly the known as the third and fourth years) of Medical School WWAMI students participate in a wide range of medical clerkships. All required clinical clerkships are available in Alaska, allowing students to remain in Alaska for the entire four years of medical school, if they so choose (TRACK Program). In addition to traditional clerkships, Alaska offers the WRITE program for students in their clinical phase who have interests in rural medicine.

The Third Year Required Clerkships:

Family Medicine - Anchorage, Wasilla, Sitka, Petersburg, Juneau, Ketchikan, Kodiak
Internal Medicine - Anchorage, Wasilla, Soldotna, Juneau, Kodiak
Pediatrics - Anchorage
OB/Gyn - Anchorage, Fairbanks
Psychiatry - Anchorage, Juneau
Surgery - Anchorage, Fairbanks

Fourth Year Required Clerkships:

Chronic Care - Anchorage, Fairbanks
Neurology - Anchorage
Emergency Medicine - Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau

Elective Clerkships:

In addition to required clerkships, Alaska offers several elective clerkships. Elective clerkships are available in Anchorage and include, but are not limited to the following: Anesthesiology, Cardiology, Pediatric Cardiology, Dermatology, Infectious Disease, Opthalmology, Otolaryngology, Pathology, and Radiology. 

Contact Us:

The Alaska WWAMI clinical phase is directed by Regional Assistant Clinical Dean, Thomas Nighswander, M.D. For further information about clinical training in Alaska, please contact the University of Washington School of Medicine regional office located in Anchorage, Alaska on the University of Alaska Anchorage campus.

Administrator of Program Operations: Shyla Dema (907)-786-4744;

Program Coordinator: Dena Wiggins (907)-786-4747;