What is an Academic Advisor?

Your academic advisor is a professional member of the UAA community with experience in course selection, major exploration, and degree completion. It is important to know who your advisor is and to seek their advice each academic semester. 

Following are listings of the different degrees and programs available from each college. However, these lists are a starting point and not comprehensive of what each college offers. Check with each advising center for specific information.

What if I have not decided on a major?

At UAA, students who have not chosen a major are Exploratory/Undeclared, and are assigned to a Senior Professional Advisor with the Advising and Testing Center. These professional advisors have a Master’s degree and the necessary expertise to explore your academic and career interests.

 

 

Who can meet with the Advising & Testing Center staff?

  • Exploratory/Undeclared Students
  • General Studies, Associate of Arts
  • Non-Degree Seeking Students

Advising & Testing Center Contact Information

University Center, Room 112 : (907) 786-4500

Majors & Degree Programs

College of Arts & Sciences

Social Sciences Contacts:

Deborah Ginsburg
Advisor for Anthropology, Environment & Society, Interdisciplinary Studies, Journalism & Public Communications, Liberal Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Women’s Studies Minor
Office: Beatrice McDonald Hall 229
Phone: (907) 786-6015
Email: dmginsburg@uaa.alaska.edu


Sciences & Mathematics Contacts:

Deborah L. Duricka, Ph.D.
Advisor for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Natural Science, Mathematics
Office: Integrated Science Building 102D
Phone: (907) 786-4710
Email: dlduricka@uaa.alaska.edu

David House
Advisor for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Natural Science, Mathematics
Office: Integrated Science Building 102D
Phone: (907) 786-4378
Email: dhouse4@uaa.alaska.edu


Humanities & Arts Contacts:

Erin Day
Advisor for Languages, English, Applied Ethics, History, Philosophy
Office: Administration Building 101R
Phone: (907) 786-1357
Email: elday@uaa.alaska.edu

Rhiannon Elliott
Advisor for Fine Arts, International Studies, Music, Theatre, Pre-Major Fine Arts, Pre-Major Music Performance, Pre-Major Music
Office: Fine Arts Building 332B
Phone: (907) 786-4841
Email: rajennings@uaa.alaska.edu

College of Business & Public Policy

CBPP Undergraduate Programs Contacts:

Allyson Berg
Advisor for Accounting, Business Computer Information Systems, Economics, Finance (Investment Concentration), Global Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Logistics & Supply Chain Operations, Management (Property Management & Real Estate Concentration), Management Information Systems, Marketing, Small Business Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 203
Phone: (907) 786-4100
Email: aberg12@uaa.alaska.edu

Martha Massey
Advisor for Accounting, Business Computer Information Systems, Economics, Finance (Investment Concentration), Global Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Logistics & Supply Chain Operations, Management (Property Management & Real Estate Concentration), Management Information Systems, Marketing, Small Business Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 203
Phone: (907) 786-4100
Email: mmassey@uaa.alaska.edu


CBPP Masters Programs Contact:

Janet Burton
Advisor for General Management, Global Supply Chain Management, Public Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 304
Phone: (907) 786-4171
Email: anjeb@uaa.alaska.edu

College of Education

Amber Sims
Advisor for all College of Education Undergraduate and Master's Programs
Office: Professional Sciences Building 218
Phone: (907) 786-4494
Email: amber@uaa.alaska.edu

College of Engineering

Younger Oliver
Academic Advisor
Office: Engineering Building 216
Phone: (907) 786-6433
Email: yoliver2@uaa.alaska.edu

Crickett Watt
Advisor for Engineering Programs (Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Geomatics, Mechanical Engineering, Applied Environmental Science & Technology, Arctic Engineering)
Office: Engineering Building 201
Phone: (907) 786-1085
Email: dcwatt@uaa.alaska.edu


Engineer Master's Degree Programs
Advising for Engineering Management, Project Management, Science Management
Office: University Center 155
Phone: (907) 786-1924

College of Health

General Advising Contacts:

Carey Brown
General Advisor for the College of Health, Advisor for Dietetics, Pre-Pharmacy, Health Sciences and MEDEX PA
Office: Professional Studies Building 101C
Phone: (907) 786-4417
Email: cbrow159@uaa.alaska.edu

Danielle Dixon
General Advisor for the College of Health
Office: Professional Studies Building 101E
Phone: (907) 786-4416
Email: danielle@uaa.alaska.edu


Human Services Contacts:

Lynn Paterna
Advisor for Human Services
Office: Professional Studies Building 212
Phone: (907) 786-6437
Email: lspaterna@uaa.alaska.edu


Justice Center
Advising for College of Health Justice Majors
Office: Library 213
Phone: (907) 786-1810


Nursing Contacts:

Marie Samson
Advisor for Nursing
Office: Health Science Building 101E
Phone: (907) 786-4550
Email: msamson@uaa.alaska.edu

Tory Volden
Advisor for Nursing
Office: Health Science Building 101D
Phone: (907) 786-4550
Email: tavolden@uaa.alaska.edu

Rachel Bonin
Advisor for Nursing
Office: Health Science Building 101
Phone: (907) 786-4550
Email: rebonin@uaa.alaska.edu


Diana Steer
Advisor for Occupational Therapy
Office: Professional Studies Building 205L
Phone: (907) 786-4490
Email: dlsteer@uaa.alaska.edu


Carey Brown
Advisor for Health Sciences for Physician's Assistant (MEDEX PA) Programs
Office: Professional Studies Building 101C
Phone: (907) 786-4417
Email: cbrow159@uaa.alaska.edu


Dr. Quentin Reuer
Advisor for Pre-Health Professions (Physical Therapy, Pre-Veterinary, Pre-Medical)
Office: Conoco Phillips Integrated Sciences Building 301M
Phone: (907) 786-1747
Email: qbreuer@uaa.alaska.edu


School of Social Work
Advising for Social Work Programs
Office: Gordon Hartlieb Hall 106
Phone: (907) 786-6900
Email: uaa_socialwork@uaa.alaska.edu
Website: www.uaa.alaska.edu/socialwork


Allied Health Programs:

Lynda Hernandez
General Advisor for the Allied Health Programs
Office: Allied Health Science Building 115
Phone: (907) 786-4894
Email: lrhernandez@uaa.alaska.edu

Physical Therapy Assistant Program
Phone: (907) 786-6782
Email: pta@uaa.alaska.edu

Dental Assisting Program
Phone: (907) 786-6933
Email: dentalassisting@uaa.alaska.edu

Sandra Pence
Advisor for Dental Hygiene
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: dentalhygiene@uaa.alaska.edu

Ryan Parnell  
Advisor for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (Ultrasound)
Phone: (907) 786-6976
Email: ultrasound@uaa.alaska.edu

Robin Wahto  
Advisor for Medical Assisting (including medical office coding and transcription)
Phone: (907) 786-6933
Email: medicalassisting@uaa.alaska.edu

Heidi Mannion  
Advisor for Medical Laboratory Sciences (including Phlebotomy and Clinical Assistant Training)
Phone: (907) 786-6928
Email: medlabscience@uaa.alaska.edu

Roxi Valentine  
Advisor for Paramedical Technology
Phone: (907) 786-6928
Email: rovalentine@uaa.alaska.edu

Lynda Hernandez  
Advisor for Radiologic Technology
Phone: (907) 786-4894
Email: radiology@uaa.alaska.edu

Carey Brown  
Advisor for Pre-Pharmacy and Pharmacy Technology
Office: Professional Studies Building 101C
Phone: (907) 786-4417
Email: cbrow159@uaa.alaska.edu

Tim Benningfield    *Please note: Through August 10, 2015, Lynda Hernandez (see above) is advising for Fire and Emergency Services program.
Advisor for Fire & Emergency Services
Phone: (907) 786-6928
Email: UAA_FireandEmergency@uaa.alaska.edu

Community & Technical College

Community & Technical College: (907) 786-6045

    Community & Technical College programs include:
  • Career & Technical Education
  • Computer Networking & Office Technologies
  • Construction & Design Technology
  • Culinary Arts & Hospitality
  • Health, Physical Education & Recreation
  • Retail Management
  • Transportation & Power
  • *If you are interested in CTC programs, contact Heather Brekke (see below) to begin the advising process.

Heather Brekke  
CTC Advising Center Coordinator & CTC Majors Advisor
Office: Sally Monserud Hall 124
Phone: (907) 786-6045
Email: hlbrekke@uaa.alaska.edu


Aviation Technology: (907) 786-7200

Holly Johanknecht
Advisor for Aviation Technology Programs (Air Traffic Control, Aviation Administration, Aviation Maintenance Technology, Aviation Technology, Professional Piloting)
Office: Aviation Complex at Merrill Field
Phone: (907) 786-7200
Email: hjjohanknecht@uaa.alaska.edu


Bachelor of Science, Technology

Darlene Gill  
Assistant Professor
Phone: (907) 786-4975
Email: dlgill@uaa.alaska.edu

Mel Kalkowski
Assistant Professor
Phone: (907) 753-0204
Email: mpkalkowski@uaa.alaska.edu


College Preparatory & Developmental Studies: (907) 786-6045

Stephanie Trafton
Academic Support Advisor for preparatory English, developmental Math and English as a Second Language courses
Office: Sally Monserud Hall 123
Phone: (907) 786-6045
Email: satrafton@uaa.alaska.edu


Military Programs

Mel Kalkowski
Director, Military Programs
Phone: (907) 753-0204
Email: mpkalkowski@uaa.alaska.edu


Occupational Safety & Health and Process Technology

Heather Brekke
CTC Majors Advisor
Office: Sally Monserud Hall 124
Phone: (907) 786-6045
Email: hlbrekke@uaa.alaska.edu


Process Technology (KPC)

Rick Adams, P.E.
Process Technology Assistant Professor
Office: University Center 117
Phone: (907) 786-6421
Email: rhadams@kpc.alaska.edu

Lynda Kreps
Process Technology Advisor
Office: University Center 118
Phone: (907) 786-6421
Email: llkreps@uaa.alaska.edu


Retail Management

Edna Matthew, M.Ed.  
Career Coach, ACT-On Retail Management Careers
Office: University Center 132U
Phone: (907) 786-7609
Email: ematthe1@uaa.alaska.edu