What is an Academic Advisor?

Your academic advisor is a professional member of the UAA community with experience in course selection, major exploration, and degree completion. It is important to know who your advisor is and to seek their advice each academic semester. 

Following are listings of the different degrees and programs available from each college. However, these lists are a starting point and not comprehensive of what each college offers. Check with each advising center for specific information.

Not Sure Where to Start?

It is not uncommon for a student to be unsure of a major when they begin college. At UAA, students who have not declared a major are assigned to a Senior Professional Academic Advisor with expertise in exploring academic and career interests. If you have not yet decided on a UAA major or are a non-degree seeking student, contact the Advising & Testing Center, located in University Center 112, at 907-786-4500.

Majors & Areas of Study

College of Arts & Sciences

Deborah Ginsburg
Advisor for Anthropology, Environment & Society, International Studies, Interdisciplinary Studies, Liberal Studies, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Women’s Studies Minor
Office: Social Sciences Building 359
Phone: (907) 786-6015
Email: dmginsburg@uaa.alaska.edu


Sciences & Mathematics Contacts:

Deborah L. Duricka, Ph.D.
Advisor for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Natural Science, Mathematics
Office: Integrated Science Building 102D
Phone: (907) 786-4710
Email: dlduricka@uaa.alaska.edu

David House
Advisor for Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geological Sciences, Natural Science, Mathematics
Office: Integrated Science Building 102D
Phone: (907) 786-4378
Email: dhouse4@uaa.alaska.edu


Erin Day
Advisor for Languages, English, Applied Ethics, History, Journalism & Public Communications, Philosophy
Office: Administration Building 101R
Phone: (907) 786-1357
Email: elday@uaa.alaska.edu


Rhiannon Elliott
Advisor for Fine Arts, Music, Theatre, Pre-Major Fine Arts, Pre-Major Music Performance, Pre-Major Music
Office: Fine Arts Building 332B
Phone: (907) 786-4841
Email: rajennings@uaa.alaska.edu


Creative Writing & Literary Arts Contacts:

Jenny Murray
Program Coordinator for Creative Writing & Literary Arts
Office: Administration Building 270
Phone: (907) 786-4394
Email: jmurray@uaa.alaska.edu

David Stevenson
Director of Creative Writing & Literary Arts
Office: Administration Building 272
Phone: (907) 786-6435
Email: ddstevenson@uaa.alaska.edu

College of Business & Public Policy

CBPP Undergraduate Programs Contacts:

Pat Lee
Advisor for Accounting, Business Computer Information Systems, Economics, Finance (Investment Concentration), Global Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Logistics & Supply Chain Operations, Management (Property Management & Real Estate Concentration), Management Information Systems, Marketing, Small Business Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 203
Phone: (907) 786-4100
Email: palee@uaa.alaska.edu

Allyson Berg
Advisor for Accounting, Business Computer Information Systems, Economics, Finance (Investment Concentration), Global Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Logistics & Supply Chain Operations, Management (Property Management & Real Estate Concentration), Management Information Systems, Marketing, Small Business Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 203
Phone: (907) 786-4100
Email: aberg12@uaa.alaska.edu

Martha Massey
Advisor for Accounting, Business Computer Information Systems, Economics, Finance (Investment Concentration), Global Logistics & Supply Chain Management, Logistics & Supply Chain Operations, Management (Property Management & Real Estate Concentration), Management Information Systems, Marketing, Small Business Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 203
Phone: (907) 786-4100
Email: mmassey@uaa.alaska.edu


CBPP Masters Programs Contact:

Janet Burton
Advisor for General Management, Global Supply Chain Management, Public Administration
Office: Rasmuson Hall 304
Phone: (907) 786-4171
Email: anjeb@uaa.alaska.edu

College of Education

Tatiana Nochevnaya
Advisor for all College of Education Undergraduate and Master's Programs
Office: Professional Studies Building 218
Phone: (907) 786-4402
Email: tanochevnaya@uaa.alaska.edu

Mikayla Savikko
Advisor for all College of Education Undergraduate and Master's Programs
Office: Professional Sciences Building 218
Phone: (907) 786-4401
Email: mtsavikko@uaa.alaska.edu

College of Engineering

Younger Oliver
Academic Advisor
Office: Engineering Building 216
Phone: (907) 786-6433
Email: yoliver2@uaa.alaska.edu

Crickett Watt
Advisor for Engineering Programs (Civil Engineering, Computer Science, Electrical Engineering, Geomatics, Mechanical Engineering, Applied Environmental Science & Technology, Arctic Engineering)
Office: Engineering Building 201
Phone: (907) 786-1085
Email: dcwatt@uaa.alaska.edu


Engineer Master's Degree Programs
Advising for Engineering Management, Project Management, Science Management
Office: University Center 155
Phone: (907) 786-1924

College of Health

General Advising Contacts:

Carey Brown
General Advisor for the College of Health
Office: Professional Studies Building 101C
Phone: (907) 786-4417
Email: cbrow159@uaa.alaska.edu

Danielle Dixon
General Advisor for the College of Health
Office: Professional Studies Building 101E
Phone: (907) 786-4416
Email: danielle@uaa.alaska.edu


Human Services Contacts:

Ira Rosnel
Advisor for Human Services
Office: Professional Studies Building 212
Phone: (907) 786-6437
Email: irosnel@uaa.alaska.edu

Lynn Paterna
Advisor for Human Services
Office: Professional Studies Building 212
Phone: (907) 786-6437
Email: lspaterna@uaa.alaska.edu


Justice Center
Advising for College of Health Justice Majors
Office: Library 213
Phone: (907) 786-1810


Nursing Contacts:

Marie Samson
Advisor for Nursing
Office: Health Science Building 101E
Phone: (907) 786-4550
Email: msamson@uaa.alaska.edu

Tory Volden
Advisor for Nursing
Office: Health Science Building 101D
Phone: (907) 786-4550
Email: tavolden@uaa.alaska.edu

Rachel Bonin
Advisor for Nursing
Office: Health Science Building 101
Phone: (907) 786-4550
Email: rebonin@uaa.alaska.edu


Diana Steer
Advisor for Occupational Therapy
Office: Professional Studies Building 205L
Phone: (907) 786-4490
Email: dlsteer@uaa.alaska.edu


John O. Riley
Advisor for Health Sciences for Physician's Assistant (MEDEX) Programs
Office: Diplomacy Building 305D
Phone: (907) 786-6570
Email: joriley@uaa.alaska.edu


Dr. Quentin Reuer
Advisor for Pre-Health Professions (Physical Therapy, Pre-Veterinary, Pre-Medical)
Office: Conoco Phillips Integrated Sciences Building 301M
Phone: (907) 786-1747
Email: qbreuer@uaa.alaska.edu


School of Social Work
Advising for Social Work Programs
Office: Gordon Hartlieb Hall 106
Phone: (907) 786-6900
Website: www.uaa.alaska.edu/socialwork


Allied Health Programs:

LeeAnne Carrothers
Program Director & Faculty Advisor for Physical Therapy Assistant Program
*Please note that this program begins in Spring 2015.

Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: lcarrothers@uaa.alaska.edu


Lynda Hernandez
General Advisor for the Allied Health Programs
Office: Allied Health Science Building 115
Phone: (907) 786-4894
Email: lrhernandez@uaa.alaska.edu


Stephanie Olson
Advisor for Dental Assisting
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: dentalassisting@uaa.alaska.edu


Sandra Pence
Advisor for Dental Hygiene
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: dentalhygiene@uaa.alaska.edu


Ryan Parnell
Advisor for Diagnostic Medical Sonography (Ultrasound)
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: ultrasound@uaa.alaska.edu


Robin Wahto
Advisor for Medical Assisting (including medical office coding and transcription)
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: medicalassisting@uaa.alaska.edu


Heidi Mannion
Advisor for Medical Laboratory Sciences (including Phlebotomy and Clinical Assistant Training)
Phone: (907) 786-6928
Email: medlabscience@uaa.alaska.edu


Lynda Hernandez
Advisor for Radiologic Technology
Phone: (907) 786-4894
Email: medicalassisting@uaa.alaska.edu


Deb Cieplak
Advisor for Pre-Pharmacy and Pharmacy Technology
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: dacieplak@uaa.alaska.edu


Tim Benningsfield
Advisor for Fire & Emergency Services and Emergency Medical Technician (EMT)
Phone: (907) 786-6929
Email: emt@uaa.alaska.edu

Community & Technical College

Community & Technical College: (907) 786-6897

    Community & Technical College programs include:
  • Career & Technical Education
  • Computer Networking & Office Technologies
  • Construction & Design Technology
  • Culinary Arts, Hospitality & Dietetics
  • Health, Physical Education & Recreation
  • Retail Management
  • Transportation & Power
  • *If you are interested in CTC programs, contact Morgan Grey (see below) to begin the advising process.

Morgan Grey  
CTC Advising Center Coordinator & CTC Majors Advisor
Office: Sally Monserud Hall 124
Phone: (907) 786-6897
Email: mgrey@uaa.alaska.edu


Holly Johanknecht
Advisor for Aviation Technology Programs (Air Traffic Control, Aviation Administration, Aviation Maintenance Technology, Aviation Technology, Professional Piloting)
Office: Aviation Complex at Merrill Field
Phone: (907) 786-7250
Email: hjjohanknecht@uaa.alaska.edu


College Preparatory & Developmental Studies: (907) 786-6480

Stephanie Trafton
Academic Support Advisor for preparatory English, developmental Math and English as a Second Language courses
Office: Sally Monserud Hall 123
Phone: (907) 786-6480
Email: satrafton@uaa.alaska.edu


Extended Studies & Workforce Development
Military Programs, Career & Technical Education - Bachelor of Science in Technology

Cheryl Smith
Associate Professor/Counselor for Extended Studies & Workforce Development: Military Programs, Career & Technical Education - Bachelor of Science in Technology
Office: University Center, Suite 130
Phone: (907) 753-0204
Email: cesmith@uaa.alaska.edu