Chancellor Fran Ulmer appointed to National Academy of Sciences committee

by Kathleen McCoy  |   

Chancellor Fran Ulmer was recently appointed to the National Academy of Sciences Committee on the Interoperability of Voter Registration Databases. Members of the committee were elected in recognition of their distinguished and continuing research achievements.

The National Academy of Sciences is a society of scholars that engages in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology. The academy investigates, examines, experiments and reports upon subjects of science whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government.


Interoperability of Voter Registration Databases Committee:

• Sharon Priest, Co-chair, Downtown Little Rock Partnership and Former Secretary of State, Arkansas
• Olene Walker, Co-chair, Former Governor of Utah
• Rakesh Agrawal, Microsoft Search Labs
• R. Michael Alvarez, California Institute of Technology
• Charlotte Cleary, General Registrar, Arlington, VA (ret.)
• Gary Cox, University of California, San Diego
• Paula Hawthorn, Independent Consultant
• Sarah Ball Johnson, Kentucky State Board of Elections
• Jeff Jonas, IBM Software Group
• John Lindback, Office of Secretary of State, Oregon
• Bruce McPherson, Former Secretary of State, California
• Wendy Noren, Boone County, Missouri Government Center
• Fran Ulmer, University of Alaska Anchorage
• William E. Winkler, U.S. Census Bureau
• Rebecca N. Wrights, Stevens Institute of Technology

For more information on the National Academies and the National Academy of Sciences, visit

Creative Commons License "Chancellor Fran Ulmer appointed to National Academy of Sciences committee" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.