The Northern Light wins eight awards in statewide competition

by Kathleen McCoy  |   

The Northern Light, UAA's student-run newspaper, received state recognition once again when its staff members took home eight awards from the Alaska Press Club's annual awards banquet on April 19, 2008. Motion was given a first-place award as the best section out of small newspapers in Alaska. This is the highest number of awards The Northern Light has received from the Alaska Press Club.

Individual awards included photo editor Gretchen Weiss' first-place award for best portrait photo, features editor Kaitlin Johnson's second-place win for business reporting, and sports editor Suzanna Caldwell's second-place award for sports news reporting. Former features editor Mary Lochner won a third-place award for her series "Heritage of Courage." First- and second-place awards for layout and design went to executive editor Aaron Burkhart, while second-place for best graphic from any size publication went to the 2007 Shootout preview layout, a team effort from Aaron Burkhart, Suzanna Caldwell and Ashley Smith.

For the titles of The Northern Light's winning entries, go to

Creative Commons License "The Northern Light wins eight awards in statewide competition" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.