Carter-Chapman and Stell selected 2011 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence winners

by Kathleen McCoy  |   

Renee-Carter-ChapmanTwo long-time academic leaders in Anchorage and Juneau are the winners of the University of Alaska Foundation's most prestigious award-the Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence. Renee Carter-Chapman, UAA senior vice provost for the University of Alaska Anchorage, and Roberta Stell, former provost for the University of Alaska Southeast, will each receive $20,000 for their significant contribution to the UA system.

"Each year a candidate for the Edith R. Bullock Prize stands heads above the rest of the candidates. This year we had two who stood out from the pack. It was too hard to choose one over the other since both are so deserving," said Foundation Chair Carla Beam. "Renee and Robbie are champions for students and the state."

Carter-Chapman has been a leader at the University of Alaska Anchorage for nearly three decades. Known as the "stealth dean," she was an early champion and guiding force behind many of UAA's most innovative and successful programs, including the Center for Advancing Faculty Excellence, the Center for Community Engagement and Learning, the University Honors College and the UAA Sustainability Council.

Carter-Chapman received her Bachelor of Arts in anthropology and sociology from the University of Alaska Anchorage, a Master of Arts in cultural anthropology and a Ph.D. from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. Carter-Chapman started her academic career at the Anchorage Community College (ACC) and was instrumental during the formation of today's UAA. UAA Chancellor Emeritus Lee Gorsuch credits Carter-Chapman with helping to hold UAA together during the tumultuous years of the merger with ACC.

"While UAA struggled to maintain its commitment to the community college mission, Renee emerged as the administrator within UAA who understood that mission and was most committed to it. She successfully guided UAA in the creation and development of the Community and Technical College," Gorsuch said.

The Bullock Prize for Excellence includes a $20,000 cash award and is the largest single award made annually by the UA Foundation's Board of Trustees. The University of Alaska Foundation raises, invests and manages privately donated funds for the sole benefit of the University of Alaska. The award was established by the late Edith R. Bullock, who served the university for 30 years as a member of the UA Board of Regents and the foundation's Board of Trustees. Bullock established the award to recognize and reward an individual who has demonstrated excellence in support of the University of Alaska.

Creative Commons License "Carter-Chapman and Stell selected 2011 Edith R. Bullock Prize for Excellence winners" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.