UA Foundation welcomes new trustees

by Kathleen McCoy  |   

New trustees

The University of Alaska Foundation welcomed five well-known Alaskans onto its Board of Trustees and elected new officers at its recent annual meeting.

Anchorage businesswoman Jo Michalski was elected chair of the board, and Eric Wohlforth, attorney and senior partner of Wohlforth, Brecht, Carltledge & Brooking in Anchorage, was elected vice-chair. Susan Anderson of Anchorage, president and chief executive officer of The CIRI Foundation, was elected secretary. Officers will serve in their respective positions until November 2012.

New trustees are Scott Jepsen of Anchorage, vice president for external affairs of ConocoPhillips (2011-2014); Jim Johnsen of Fairbanks, senior vice president of human resources for Alaska Communications (2011-2014); Frank Paskvan of Anchorage, viscous oil renewal team leader for BP (2011-2014); Marilyn Romano of Anchorage, regional vice president for Alaska Airlines (2011-2014); and Anand Vadapalli of Anchorage, president and chief executive officer for Alaska Communications (2011-2013). Longtime Fairbanks resident Carolyne Wallace was re-elected for a third term (2011-2014). She was first elected to the board in 2003.

"These five new trustees join a seasoned group of volunteers, all of whom bring the UA Foundation their skill and a commitment to higher education," said Foundation President Carla Beam. "Jo Michalski, Eric Wohlforth and Susan Anderson are strong leaders with proven track records who will help advance our efforts to build support for UA students across the state."

The UA Foundation Board of Trustees is a 27-member board consisting of elected and emeritus members from across Alaska; appointed trustees including UA President Pat Gamble and chancellors Tom Case (UAA), Brian Rogers (UAF) and John Pugh (UAS); as well as UA regent appointees Mary K. Hughes and Kirk Wickersham, both of Anchorage.

The University of Alaska Foundation is a private nonprofit corporation established in 1974 to solicit, manage and invest donations for the exclusive benefit of the University of Alaska. For full bios of all the trustees, click here.

Creative Commons License "UA Foundation welcomes new trustees" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.