Seven UAA alumni named Top Forty Under 40 in 2023

by Matt Jardin  |   

2023 Top Forty Under 40 logo

The Alaska Journal of Commerce released its annual list of the top young professionals in the state. Selected from a field of 262 nominations, the 2023 Top Forty Under 40 recipients exemplify excellence in professional and community service. 

Awardees will be honored at the Hotel Captain Cook on April 21. Tickets and tables for the event are available at

Congratulations to all awardees, including the following seven Seawolf alumni (and one faculty member) who made this year's list.

Maria Bourne (37), B.B.A. Accounting ’06, CEO and President, Denali Universal Services

Dr. Sara Buckingham (34), Associate Professor of Psychology, UAA Department of Psychology

Joshua Franks (39), A.A. General Program ’13, Chief of Staff, Cook Inlet Tribal Council

Lauren Johnson (31), B.B.A. Management ’16, Executive Director and President, Chugach Heritage Foundation

Jeff Landfield (38), B.A. History ’09, Owner and Publisher, Alaska Landmine and Alaska Political Report; Co-Owner, Tudor Road Studios

Serena Nesteby (33), B.S.W. Social Work ’12, Advancement Officer, Ilisagvik College

Megan Piper (34), B.S. Nursing Science ’12, Director of Service Operations Center, Providence Alaska Medical Center

Michael Rhodes (35), B.S. Civil Engineering ’11, Manager of Engineering and Planning, Municipality of Anchorage Solid Waste Services

Creative Commons License "Seven UAA alumni named Top Forty Under 40 in 2023" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.