Rasmuson Foundation honors five UAA alumni with artist awards

by Matt Jardin  |   

The Rasmuson Foundation announced this year’s recipients of the annual Individual Artist Awards. Twenty-five artists, including three UAA alumni, will receive project awards of $10,000. Ten artists, including two alumni, will receive $25,000 fellowships. One artist, weaver Anna Brown Ehlers, will receive the $50,000 Distinguished Artist award, recognizing creative excellence and artistic achievements in a career spanning several decades.

Congratulations to all the award recipients, including the following members of the UAA family:


Nicolette Corbett (A.A.S. Nursing ’18, B.S. Nursing Science ’20), folk and traditional arts, Bethel
M.C. MoHagani Magnetek (B.A. English ’16, M.F.A. Creative Writing and Literary Arts ’20), literary arts / scriptworks, Fairbanks

Project Awards

Brian Adams (B.A. Art ’19), visual arts, Anchorage
Young Kim (B.A. Journalism and Public Communications ’17), visual arts, Anchorage
Danielle D. Larsen (B.A. English ’03, B.F.A. Art ’15), visual arts, Anchorage / King Cove / Beaver

Now in its 20th year, the Individual Artist Awards program supports arts and culture by putting money directly into the hands of artists. It is one of several grant programs and initiatives managed by the Rasmuson Foundation to promote a better life for Alaskans. Learn more at rasmuson.org.

Rasmuson Foundation Invividual Artist Awards 2023 logo
(Photo courtesy of the Rasmuson Foundation)
Creative Commons License "Rasmuson Foundation honors five UAA alumni with artist awards" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.