Leadership and Organization

Dr. Bruce Schultz

Vice Chancellor

Vice Chancellor Bruce R. Schultz serves as a member of the chancellor's cabinet and has administrative responsibility for all Student Affairs departments and units.

Dr. Schultz began his professional career in student affairs at the University of Alaska Anchorage (UAA) in 1992 as the administrative coordinator of Residence Life. In 1995, he became the Associate Dean of Students and in 2005 the Dean of Students and Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Development. In June 2010, he was appointed Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs.

Dr. Schultz earned a bachelor's degree in International Business and German from the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh and a Master of Education in Student Affairs Administration in Higher Education from Ball State University. He received his doctorate in Educational and Organizational Leadership from the University of La Verne.

For his professional service and leadership, Dr. Schultz has received the following recognitions: the Thomas M. Mangoon Excellence in Counseling Award from the American College Personnel Association; the UAA Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Outstanding Contributions to Students, in Outstanding Collaboration among University Departments, and in Exemplary Group Achievement; and Top 40 under 40 recipient from the Anchorage Chamber of Commerce and the Alaska Journal of Commerce.

Dr. Schultz's current professional interests include transforming the transition to college experience for first-year students, creating synergy among student engagement and multicultural student programs, building staff capacity for innovation and change, and building collaborative programs between administrative services, academic affairs, university advancement and student affairs to transform the total educational experience of students.

  • Associate Vice Chancellor

    Lora Volden

    Lora Volden, Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Services, oversees Admissions, Military & Veteran Student Services, New Student Recruitment, the Office of Financial Aid, the Office of the Registrar, and Student Information Services.

    Lora has worked at the University of Alaska Anchorage since 2001, serving previously as the Director of New Student Orientation and as the University Registrar. With over 25 years of experience in higher education, Lora has worked at institutions in Colorado, Idaho and Minnesota. As a first-generation college student, Lora is passionate about removing barriers and simplifying processes for students.

    She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Applied Psychology from St. Cloud State University, Minnesota in 1992 and a Master of Counseling in Student Affairs and College Counseling from Idaho State University in 1997.

  • Dean of Students

    Ben Morton

    Ben Morton, Dean of Students, supervises the Multicultural Center, Native Student Services, Disability Support Services, Student Health and Counseling Center, Department of Residence Life, Student Conduct and Ethical Development, as well as the UAA CARE Team.

    Ben previously served as the Associate Dean of Students at Saint Louis University (2015-2017), Associate Dean of Students and Director of Student Conduct at the University of Memphis (2011-2014), and the Assistant Dean of Students and Assistant Director of Student Conduct at the University of Illinois (2006-2011).

    Ben earned bachelor's degrees from Clarion University in 1996, a Master of Arts in Geography from West Virginia University in 1999, and a Master of Science in Higher Education from Florida State University in 2001. He has also completed coursework and is ABD on a doctoral degree in Educational Leadership from the University of Illinois.

  • Executive Director

    Theresa Lyons

    Theresa Lyons, Executive Director of Student Outreach and Transition, oversees the successful transition of students to college. She has worked in secondary and post-secondary education for more than 20 years. As a first-generation college student, Theresa understands the impact that education can have on an individual, a career, a life, and she endeavors to hold out the standard of excellence for staff and students, defining it as “doing your best everyday.”

    Theresa is also an engaged community member who serves as Vice President of Programs for The Links, Incorporated, where she recently guided the development and implementation of a Mentoring Program for 5th graders. Theresa is also a member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, where she often presents to young people to encourage their dreams of graduating from college.

    Theresa earned a Bachelor in Business Administration at Edward Waters College in Jacksonville, Florida and a Masters of Public Administration at UAA. Theresa's professional affiliations are with NODA (National Orientation Directors Association) and NACADA (National Academic Advising Association).

Student Affairs Org Chart


In order to view PDF files on your computer, you must have a PDF reader program installed. If you do not already have such a reader, you can download a free reader at Adobe's website: Download Adobe Acrobat Reader Software

Back to top