Rasmuson Foundation honors seven UAA alumni with artist awards

by Matt Jardin  |   

Rasmuson Foundation 2020 Individual Artist Awards
(Photo courtesy of the Rasmuson Foundation)

The Rasmuson Foundation announced this year’s recipients of the annual Individual Artist Awards. Twenty-five artists, including five UAA alumni, will receive project awards of $7,500. Ten artists, including two UAA alumni, will receive $18,000 fellowships. One artist, Tlingit master carver Wayne Price, will receive the $40,000 Distinguished Artist award, recognizing creative excellence and artistic achievements in a career spanning several decades.

Congratulations to all the award recipients, including the following members of the UAA family:


Ed Mighell (A.A. Art ’87, B.S. Civil Engineering ’91, B.F.A. Art ’05), ceramic engineer, Anchorage
Holly Mititquq Nordlum (B.F.A. Art ’04), multidiscipline, Anchorage

Project Awards

Don Rearden (M.F.A. Creative Writing and Literary Arts ’05), scriptworks, Anchorage
Sara Loewen (M.F.A. Creative Writing and Literary Arts ’12), multidiscipline, Kodiak
Levi Werner (B.F.A. Art ’19), visual arts, Anchorage
Bryce Nicolasa Fredrick (B.F.A. Art ’19), visual arts, Anchorage
Will Dowd (B.A. Art ’16), visual arts, Anchorage

Now in its 17th year, the Individual Artist Awards program supports arts and culture by putting money directly into the hands of artists. It is one of several grant programs and initiatives managed by the Rasmuson Foundation to promote a better life for Alaskans. Learn more at rasmuson.org.


Written by Matt Jardin, UAA Office of University Advancement

Creative Commons License "Rasmuson Foundation honors seven UAA alumni with artist awards" is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.