WWAMI Student Awards

Arthur Schaible Anatomy Award

The Arthur Schaible Anatomy Award is presented to the first-year medical student of the UAA WWAMI Biomedical Program who best demonstrates excellence in the study of Human Gross Anatomy. The award is presented in memory of Arthur B. Schaible. Dr. Schaible first came to Alaska in 1938, and he became a prominent surgeon in Interior Alaska. He also had a long association with the University of Alaska and served on the Board of Regents from 1961 through 1969.
Read more about The Aurthur Schaible Anatomy Award

Jon B. Syren Award

The Jon B. Syren Award recognizes a first-year medical student in the University of Alaska Anchorage Biomedical Program who has demonstrated personal qualities of character, integrity, and compassion, combined with a commitment to and promise of community service in medicine. It is presented in memory of Jon Benedict Syren, who began his medical training in Anchorage in the fall of 1989 as a member of the first class of WWAMI students enrolled in the Biomedical Program at the University of Alaska Anchorage. 
Read more about the Jon B. Syren Award

Xavier Engle Spirit Award

In honor and memory of Xavier Engle, the Alaska WWAMI Medical Education Program has established the Xavier Engle Scholarship for Alaska WWAMI medical students, at the University of Alaska Anchorage. In recognition of Xavier's academic excellence and outstanding personal achievements beyond medicine, the recipients will have demonstrated intellectual curiosity, passion and achievement in and outside of healthcare.
Read more about the Xavier Engle Spirit Award