The Arthur Schaible Anatomy Award

Dr. Arthur Schaible was a prominent interior Alaska surgeon who came to the state in1938 to head the Alaska Native Health Services Hospital at Tanana. In 1941, he moved to Fairbanks and remained associated with the Fairbanks Clinic until his retirement in 1971. He had a long association with the University of Alaska, which included serving on the Board of Regents from 1961 until 1969.

Criteria for The Arthur Schaible Anatomy Award

Two to three students that best demonstrate excellence in Human Form and Function are chosen as the recipient of the award. Excellence is determined according to objective and subjective criteria.

Arthur Schaible
  • Objective measurements - Total scores on Human Form and Function content in the foundations curriculum.
  • Subjective measurements - Excellence in Human Form and Function is demonstrated not only by test scores, but also by the quality of dissections, participation in class activities, and interaction with other classmates. The recipient must exemplify excellence in  mastering dissection, showing leadership in the laboratory, and enthusiastically participating in all related anatomy class activities.
  • Selection process - Nominations from fellow students, faculty and staff will be forwarded to the selection committee* and Director, who will make the final decision.

*Appointed by the Director

Recipients of The Arthur Schaible Anatomy Award 

Award Year Award Recipient Award Year Award Recipient
2021   2020 Luke Castellini
2019  Mackenzie French 2018 Wade Banta
2017 Mackenzie Holmberg 2016 Erik Moore
2015 Tyler Denman 2014 Erik Woelber
2013 Tyler Berliner 2012 Stephen Wall
2011 Shannon Son 2010 Nancy Bishop
2009 Matthew Hand 2009 Katherine Senter
2008 Tiffany Kelly 2007 Abraham Tsigonis
2006 Janelle Dubbins 2005 Jeremy Wood
2004 Jeffery Knox 2003 Jacob Gray
2002 Aric Christal 2001 Lisa Chiou
2000 Mike Bensler 1999 Ty R. Vincent
1998 Erik G. VanEaton 1998 Roy D. Loewenstein
1997 Erik Kubial 1996 Ryan McGhan
1995 Sohrab Gollogly 1994 Michael Starks
1993 Karen McCreary 1992 William Joseph Dittrich
1991 Stephen Michael Wahl 1990 Anya Jean Maier
1987 Stephen Alberts 1986 James Clyde Foxworthy