Organization and Structure

CTC is one of five academic colleges at UAA.  Dean Ray Weber, Ph.D., is assisted by Associate Dean Deanne Woodard (University Studies) and Associate Dean (vacant, Technical Programs). 

Organizational Structure

The Technical Programs are split into four divisions:  

  • Aviation Technology, (Air Traffic Control, Aviation Administration, Aviation Maintenance, and Professional Piloting)
  • Building Technologies, (Computer and Networking Technology, Construction Management, and Occupational Safety and Health)
  • Culinary Arts and Hospitality Administration
  • Transportation and Power (Automotive Technology, Diesel Power Technology, and Welding and Nondestructive Testing Technology)

Each division is headed by a faculty director or chair, who is responsible to review and approve curriculum and assessments, direct or support the work of the faculty, manage division budgets, and supervise staff.  University Studies houses the AAS in Apprenticeship Technologies and BS in Applied Technologies Leadership, the Army ROTC and Air Force ROTC, the Learning Commons and the Testing Center. The Associate Dean for University Studies serves in the role of Director for the division.

The three academic departments (Communication, Quantitative Studies, and Writing) are each headed by a faculty chair.

Governance and Committee Structure

CTC Leadership Council meets monthly throughout the year, and includes the Dean, Associate Deans, Directors, Chairs, and staff managers.  Leadership Council guides the overall strategic planning and direction of the College, serves as a hub for communication between the College and all of the units, and acts as a venue for any unit or leader to bring issues forward for consideration or action.

Directors & Chairs Team (DCT) meets monthly or as needed, and includes the Directors and Chairs of the academic units and—by invitation—the association deans or other college staff.  DCT is a solution-focused group that works through issues or items brought forth by the Dean or by any of its members.

Program Improvement & Curricular Review (PICR) is the shared governance body of the faculty that initiates, reviews, and approves for further consideration all courses, programs and degrees offered by CTC.  PICR also serves as the College Assessment committee, reviewing and offering guidance to programs on student learning outcomes assessment.

Peer Review is the formal shared governance body of the faculty that reviews faculty files for 4th Year Comprehensive, Tenure, Promotion, or Emeritus review.  Peer Review also authors and edits, with input from the various academic units, the Faculty Evaluation Guidelines (FEGs) for CTC, and may be asked to weigh in on other items that relate directly to faculty development, retention, promotion, and/or tenure.

Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) is a faculty-staff committee that develops and oversees implementation of the College’s recruitment and retention strategies.  SEM reviews enrollment data annually, and can provide technical assistance to academic units undergoing program review or external accreditation review.

Board of Chairs (BoC) is the College-level external Advisory Council.  It is comprised of the current chair of each of the Program Advisory Committees, plus the Associate Deans and the Dean.  BoC provides support for resource development, student recruiting and alumni relations, ensuring curriculum currency and applicability to industry, and for student connections to internships and employment.