Selkregg Award

The Selkregg Community Engagement & Service Learning Award of $5,000 supports faculty to develop community-based research, creative activity, and course-based service-learning projects.  The award seeks to encourage, inspire, and reward faculty at UAA for engaged scholarship that creates and sustains our community partnerships. Purposes of the award are to recognize community engagement projects with significant discipline-based scholarship, community partnership, and creativity in project design and implementation. The projects ultimately aim to improve the quality of life for Alaska residents and develop civic leadership, democracy, and social justice on campus and in the community.

Selkregg Award Applications

2017-18 Applicaton

Please contact the CCEL office at 786-4062 or  for more information.

2017 Selkregg Award Recipient

Jamie Elswick

Jamie Elswick, WWAMI
Community Partner: Central Lutheran Church
"Mobile Foot Clinic for Anchorage’s Homeless Population"

Elswick’s project “Mobile Foot Clinic for Anchorage’s Homeless Population” brings together a collaboration among the WWAMI School of Medicine, UAA’s Nursing faculty, Central Lutheran Church and local outreach partnerships to deliver mobile basic foot, nail, and wound care to Anchorage’s vulnerable homeless population. UAA medical and nursing students will be trained and gain valuable experience and awareness of issues facing vulnerable populations.

This project will increase the number of providers skilled in administering specialized care and remove barriers to clients receiving needed treatment. Students will provide mobile foot care at local service locations, including self-care outreach with personal care kits and allow for on-site care of common foot and wound care to decrease associated health issues. In addition to increasing access to services, this project will instill values of community service and outreach among the next generation of medical practitioners.

Read more about the project in this Green and Gold article.

Award Background and Previous Recipients

10th Anniversary Award Brochure

About the Selkregg Award

2010 recipient Catherine Sullivan and the Refugee Youth Music Group project

2011 recipient Tracey Burke and the Food Bank Research Partnership

2012 recipient Irasema Ortega and the Kashunamiut School District Partnership

2014 recipients Rebecca Robinson "Refugee Needs Assessment" and James Fitterling "Community Partnership for Addressing Homelessness"

2015 recipient Kathryn Ohle "Supporting Preservation of Native Languages & Encouraging Early Literacy with Children's Books"

2016 recipient Ian Hartman "A Comprehensive Study of African American and Civil Rights History in Southcentral Alaska"

In order to view PDF files on your computer, you must have a PDF reader program installed. If you do not already have such a reader, you can download a free reader at Adobe's website: Download Adobe Acrobat Reader Software

Back to top