School of Social Work Faculty & Staff

School of Social Work Team

  • Photo of Dr. Vanessa Meade"There's been a few studies here and there about the kinds of resources people want to use, but there's so little that's been done in Alaska, so we don't even have a really good way to measure how many female veterans live in the state other than those who’ve enrolled in VA services. What we are really trying to do is to connect with the women who are not connected to the VA, but also to connect them to other resources and learn through their experiences how we as a state can implement better services to help them live more high-quality lives."

    — Dr. Vanessa Meade

  • Photo of Dr. Jessica Ullrich"My whole passion has been about ending the disproportionate number of Alaska Native children in out-of-home care, and I felt like I did everything I could within the system to create change, but the number stayed the same. ... What happened in the past is still happening today, and I feel like there’s not enough attention or recognition that the current policies of child welfare are slanted toward removal."

    — Dr. Jessica Ullrich

  • Photo of Dr. Matthew Cuellar"(Relationship building) helps us address some of the stigma around policing, particularly in these lower-income or higher-need communities. It’s really important that we develop and foster the positive relationship between (students) and police."

    — Dr. Matthew Cuellar

Directory Quick Links:

 


Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
David Moxley Director, Professor 907-786-6907 dpmoxley@alaska.edu
Donna Aguiniga Associate Professor 907-786-6906 dmaguiniga@alaska.edu
Mary Dallas Allen Professor, MSW Program Coordinator 907-786-6992 mdallen7@alaska.edu
Heidi Brocious Professor   hlbrocious@alaska.edu
Tracey Burke Professor 907-786-6905 tkburke@alaska.edu
Matthew Cuellar Assistant Professor 907-786-6901 mjcuellar@alaska.edu
Alexa Filanowicz Term Assistant Professor, BSW Field Coordinator 907-786-6908 afilanowicz@alaska.edu
William "Bill" Galic Assistant Professor 907-252-5619 wfgalic@alaska.edu
Amana Mbise Assistant Professor 907-786-6910 ambise@alaska.edu
Vanessa Meade Assistant Professor 907-786-6903 vmeade@alaska.edu
Ashley O'Connor Assistant Professor 907-786-6904 aoconnor4@alaska.edu
Amanda Sandlin Term Assistant Professor 907-786-6439 abiggs@alaska.edu
Rei Shimizu Assistant Professor 907-786-4708 rshimizu@alaska.edu
Kathi Trawver Professor, Interim MSW Field Education Coordinator 907-786-6915 krtrawver@alaska.edu
Jessica Ullrich Assistant Professor 907-786-6827 jsullrich@alaska.edu
Stephanie Vaughn Term Instructor 907-786-6901 slvaughn@alaska.edu

 

Staff

Name Title Phone Email
Sharie Field Academic Specialist, Field Support Technician 907-786-6971 sdfield@alaska.edu
Jenifer Leigh MSW Admissions Coordinator 907-786-6453 jwleigh@alaska.edu
Sharlicia Miller Program Support 907-786-6900 slmiller@alaska.edu
Eva Wilson Program Assistant, Travel Coordinator, NRCANE Support 907-786-6972 egwilson2@alaska.edu
Ahliil Saitanan Communications Coordinator 907-786-1833 aasaitanan@alaska.edu