School of Allied Health Faculty & Staff Directory

Meet the School of Allied Health Team

  • T.J. Miller, HPER Program Director"The graduates of this program learn the skills needed to be a valued, confident and competent health, wellness, fitness and recreation professionals. Kinesiology graduates are highly employable and well-prepared for further graduate studies upon completion of the program."

    -T.J. Miller, HPER Program Chair

  • Lisa Nash, M.Ed, CMA (AAMA)"Our program is a great choice for students looking to build a firm health career foundation. Our school's mission is to educate and develop allied health professionals to serve all of Alaskans. We look forward to sharing a passion for patient care with you."

    -Lisa Nash, M.Ed, CMA (AAMA), MA Program Director

  • Karen Gallagher, Ph.D., CCC-SLP"Our students come from diverse backgrounds, bringing a wealth of experiences and varying perspectives. This diversity enhances the learning environment and strong sense of community. I welcome you to start on your path to this very rewarding career."

    -Karen L. Gallagher, Ph.D., CCC-SLP, SLP Program Director

School of Allied Health Administration

Name Title Phone Email
School of Allied Health  General Information 907-786-4346 uaa_alliedhealth@alaska.edu
LeeAnne Carrothers Assistant Dean of Allied Health 907-786-6932 lcarrothers@alaska.edu
Bridgett Mayorga Associate Director 907-786-6976 blmayorga@alaska.edu
Katie Walker Instructional Designer 907-786-4333 kmwalker@alaska.edu
Jordana Newman Communications Coordinator 907-786-4416 jordana@alaska.edu
Jeni Taylor Office Manager 907-786-6933 jtaylor8@alaska.edu
Maria Thenell Program Support Specialist 907-786-6929 msthenell@alaska.edu
Tabitha Drover Program Support Specialist 907-786-6782 tldrover@alaska.edu
Shawn Patiag Program Support Specialist 907-786-6936 sepatiag@alaska.edu
Sydney Baranov-Kaderman Dental Clinic Support Specialist 907-786-6943 sbaranov@alaska.edu

 

Certified Nursing Assistant

Name Title Phone Email
Marsha Bailey Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4310 mbaile11@alaska.edu

 

Dental Assisting

Name Title Phone Email
Stephanie Olson Program Director/Professor 907-786-6923 smolson@uaa.alaska.edu
Laura Stoddard Term Assistant Professor 907-786-6983 llstoddard@alaska.edu

 

Dental Hygiene

Name Title Phone Email
Carri Shamburger Program Director/Associate Professor 907-786-4344 cashamburger@alaska.edu
Jessica Ross Assistant Professor 907-786-6926 jmross2@alaska.edu
Tammy Sanderson Associate Professor 907-786-6925 trsanderson@alaska.edu

 

Diagnostic Medical Sonography

Name Title Phone Email
Bridgett Mayorga Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-6976 blmayorga@alaska.edu
Christina Pearson Term Assistant Professor/Clinical Coordinator 907-786-6946 cmpearson2@alaska.edu

 

Dietetics and Nutrition

Name Title Phone Email
Carrie King Professor 907-786-6597 cdking@alaska.edu
Amanda Walch Assistant Professor 907-786-1362 akwalch@alaska.edu
Melissa Chlupach Term Assistant Professor 907-786-1427 machlupach@alaska.edu
Amy Urbanus Assistant Professor 907-786-0337 alurbanus@alaska.edu

 

Fire and Emergency Services

Name Title Phone Email
Chris Lau Interim Program Director/Professor 907-786-6476 cflau@alaska.edu

 

Health, Physical Education & Recreation

Name Title Phone Email
Carl Arts Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4066 cjarts@alaska.edu
TJ Miller Program Chair/Associate Professor 907-786-4083 tjmiller@alaska.edu
Junland Navarro Therapeutics Lab Coordinator 907-786-4083 jnavarro2@alaska.edu
Eric Oba Term Assistant Professor 907-786-0391 etoba2@alaska.edu

 

Medical Assisting

Name Title Phone Email
Lisa Nash Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4446 lanash@alaska.edu

 

Medical Laboratory Science

Name Title Phone Email
Melainie Duckworth Term Assistant Professor 907-786-6927 mduckworth@alaska.edu
Grace Leu-Burke Interim Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-6939 gleuburke@alaska.edu
Karen Kurtz Associate Professor 907-786-0303 krkurtz@alaska.edu
Jeffrey Rau Laboratory Coordinator 907-786-1084 jsrau2@alaska.edu

 

Physical Therapist Assistant 

Name Title Phone Email
LeeAnne Carrothers Interim Program Director 907-786-6932 lcarrothers@alaska.edu
Patricia Runde ACCE/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4769 parunde@alaska.edu

 

Radiologic Technology

Name Title Phone Email
Kathryn Slagle Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4336 kslagle@alaska.edu
Amanda Loy Term Assistant Professor 907-786-6941 ajloy@alaska.edu
Aaron Beardsley Term Instructor   adbeardsley@alaska.edu

 

Speech-Language Pathology

Name Title Phone Email
Karen Gallagher Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4712 klgallagher4@alaska.edu
Cameron Young Term Assistant Professor 907-786-4468 mcyoung@alaska.edu

 

Surgical Technology

Name Title Phone Email
Nicole Clementi Program Director/Term Assistant Professor 907-786-0927 nclementi@alaska.edu.
Lenworth Trail Term Assistant Professor 907-786-0928 telenworth@alaska.edu