Anthropology & Geography Faculty

LOCATION

The Department of Anthropology & Geography is housed in Beatrice McDonald Hall (BMH), at the west end of UAA’s Anchorage campus. The departmental office is located on the second floor in Room 231.

MAILING ADDRESS
Department of Anthropology & Geography 
3211 Providence Drive
University of Alaska Anchorage
Anchorage, AK 99508

Full-time Faculty

ogilvie
Kristen Ogilvie
Associate Professor of Anthropology & Department Chair
hanson
Diane Hanson
Associate Professor of Anthropology & Graduate Coordinator
dkhanson@alaska.edu 
van dommelen
Professor of Geography
(907) 786-1765
BMH 206
 
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Kenai Peninsula College
(907) 262-0345
 

Associated Faculty in Other UAA Departments

Marie Lowe
Associate Professor of Public Policy
Institute for Social and Economic Research
mlowe@alaska.edu
(907) 786-6534
Libby Eufemio
Assistant Professor of Alutiiq Studies
Kodiak College
epeufemio@alaska.edu
(907) 486-1276
Travis Hedwig
Associate Professor of Health Sciences
College of Health
Britteny Howell
Assistant Professor of Health Sciences
College of Health
bmhowell2@alaska.edu
(907) 786-6565
Ruby Fried
Assistant Professor of Health Sciences
Institute for Circumpolar Health Studies
rlfried@alaska.edu
(907) 786-6517
 
 
 

Affiliate Faculty

Aron Crowell
Alaska Director (Arctic Studies Center, Smithsonian Institute)
Clare Dannenberg
Affiliate Associate Professor
Ryan Harrod
Affiliate Professor
(907) 786-4989
ryan.harrod@garrettcollege.edu
Sally Carraher
Affiliate Associate Professor(907) 786-1568
sfcarraher@gmail.com
Michael Livingston
Cultural Heritage Specialist, Aleutian Pribilof Islands Association
 
 
 

Adjunct Faculty

Rachel Mason
Tamara Holman
Mallory Anctil
Elizabeth Anaya
Rebecca Lambourn
 
 

Emeriti & Retired Faculty

Phyllis Fast *In Memoriam, 1946-2019
Professor Emerita

 

Kerry Feldman
Professor Emeritus

 

Christine Hanson
Retired Faculty
Steve Langdon
Professor Emeritus

 

Douglas Veltre
Professor Emeritus

 

William Workman *In Memoriam, 1940-2021
Professor Emeritus