Anthropology & Geography Faculty


The Department of Anthropology & Geography is housed in Beatrice McDonald Hall (BMH), at the west end of UAA’s Anchorage campus. The departmental office is located on the second floor in Room 231.

Department of Anthropology & Geography 
3211 Providence Drive
University of Alaska Anchorage
Anchorage, AK 99508

Full-time Faculty

Kristen Ogilvie
Associate Professor of Anthropology & Department Chair
Diane Hanson
Associate Professor of Anthropology & Graduate Coordinator 
van dommelen
Professor of Geography
(907) 786-1765
BMH 206
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Kenai Peninsula College
(907) 262-0345
Ryan Harrod photo
Associate Professor of Anthropology


Associated Faculty in Other UAA Departments

Marie Lowe
Associate Professor of Public Policy
Institute for Social and Economic Research
(907) 786-6534
Libby Eufemio
Assistant Professor of Alutiiq Studies
Kodiak College
(907) 486-1276
Travis Hedwig
Associate Professor of Health Sciences
College of Health
Britteny Howell
Assistant Professor of Health Sciences
College of Health
(907) 786-6565
Ruby Fried
Assistant Professor of Health Sciences
Institute for Circumpolar Health Studies
(907) 786-6517

Affiliate Faculty

Aron Crowell
Alaska Director (Arctic Studies Center, Smithsonian Institute)
Clare Dannenberg
Affiliate Associate Professor
Sally Carraher
Affiliate Associate Professor
(907) 786-1568
Michael Livingston
Cultural Heritage Specialist, Aleutian Pribilof Islands Association

Adjunct Faculty

Rachel Mason
Tamara Holman
Mallory Anctil
Elizabeth Anaya
Rebecca Lambourn

Emeriti & Retired Faculty

Phyllis Fast *In Memoriam, 1946-2019
Professor Emerita


Kerry Feldman
Professor Emeritus


Christine Hanson
Retired Faculty
Steve Langdon
Professor Emeritus


Douglas Veltre
Professor Emeritus


William Workman *In Memoriam, 1940-2021
Professor Emeritus