Seawolf Advisory!

On Dec. 11, our Facilities and Campus Services team was made aware of a pothole that shut down the westbound lanes of Northern Lights Boulevard between UAA Drive and Career Center Drive. It has since been upgraded to a sinkhole, and the lanes will remain closed for an undetermined amount of time while crews repair the damage. We anticipate the closure will extend through the week.

Finals week is a very stressful time for students. Students, please know that your professors have been made aware of the situation. Please communicate with them any delays you may experience due to this issue. We know this is an unexpected traffic challenge. Please take a deep breath. We want you to have a smooth and safe finals week.

Apply to Become UAA's Atwood Chair

Applications for the 2016-17 Atwood Chair of Journalism are being accepted through Jan. 31, 2016.  

Send a resume and letter of interest that includes ideas for reporting projects that include student collaboration to Associate Professor and Chair Paola Banchero at

The Atwood Chair of Journalism is one of the most prestigious temporary faculty appointments in journalism education. Previous Atwood Chairs include Pulitzer Prize-winning Investigative reporter Gary Cohn, Pulitzer winner and juror Richard Murphy, journalism educator Carole Rich, and Mark Trahant, whose multimedia career includes books, daily Tweets, reporting projects, and speaking engagements about the digital media revolution.

The ideal candidate will teach foundation courses in reporting and writing as well as hold seminars on broad issues in the profession. They engage with UAA students and faculty The Atwood Chair of Journalism also works with Alaska journalists and is active  in representing the journalism profession in the community.

If you have questions, contact Paola Banchero at 907-786-4194.