Support the Atwood Chair

Chacellor Tom Case and JPC Chair Paola Banchero accept a donation from the Atwood Foundation.

Any donation helps make the Atwood Chair of Journalism happen.


To designate your gift to the Atwood Chair, please select "Robert B. Atwood Chair of Journalism Endowment" from the dropdown list next to the question "Where would you like us to direct your gift?" Thank you for your support!

The Robert B. Atwood Foundation Challenge

The Atwood Foundation has committed $3.17 million toward endowment of the Atwood Chair since its establishment in 1979. The current pledge of $2.4 million challenges the community to join them in fully funding the endowment and enabling UAA to offer a year-long post to future Atwood Chairs by contributing $100,000. We are well on our way to making that cornerstone gift thanks to the leadership last semester of the following donors:

Bunnell Society ($1,000,000 or more)
        • Robert B. Atwood Foundation

Gold Circle ($5,000–$9,999)
        • Sylvia Broady

Glacier Circle ($2,500–$4,999)
        • ConocoPhillips Alaska Inc.

Chancellor's Circle ($1,000–$2,499)
        • Fuller & Christmas Cowell
        • Rick Goodfellow & Jan Ingram
        • Bradford Keithley
        • Karen & Michael King, '10
        • Natalie Lowman, '83
        • Rasmuson Foundation
        • Donelle & Ross Thompson
        • Pat & Suzanne Yack
        • Bradley Reid & Associates

Jade Club ($500–$999)
        • Paola Banchero & Travis Rector
        • Eileen Thompson, '95
        • Natasha & Rudi Von Imhof

Forget-Me-Not Club ($250–$499)
        • Tom & Susan Case
        • Tony Hopfinger & Amanda Coyne
        • Beth Rose, '94 & John Levy

University Club ($100–$249)
        • Jeane & Chris Breinig
        • Thomas Brennan
        • Amy Jennings Burnett
        • Larry & Melissa Campbell, '99
        • Michael Carey, Hon. LLD '05 & Margaret Brown-Carey
        • Mishelle Kennedy
        • Richard Murphy
        • Harry & Leslie Need
        • Katy Parrish
        • Kirsten Schultz Brogan
        • David Worrell, '95

Friends ($1–$99)
        • Virginia McKinney & Joseph Josephson
        • Philip Steyer, '88

We appreciate our donors and recognize them on a fiscal year basis

We Believe in the Atwood Chair


Sylvia Broady, Atwood Chair colleague and JPC founding professor

In 1980, Sylvia Broady had the opportunity to work alongside the very first Atwood Chair of Journalism, Cleve Mathews, to shape a fledgling Department of Journalism and Public Communications at UAA. In fact, Sylvia worked with the first nine Atwood Chairs. If anyone knows the importance of the Atwood Chair to the advancement of journalism education in Alaska, it's Sylvia Broady, founding professor for JPC. So why does she choose to support the university each year?

"I believe in the institution," she says. "I feel it has arrived. My time there was a good experience and I wanted to say thank you. And, let's face it, you see all these students and recognize that they need support." Through gifts from donors like Sylvia and significant support from the Atwood Foundation, the university is close to securing full endowment for the Atwood Chair of Journalism. Attracting top-quality professors is part of the equation for creating a first-choice university.

The UAA Green and Gold did a full interview with Sylvia worth reading!


Dave Worrell, JPC Graduate - 1995

A 1995 Graduate, Dave has come back to JPC as a member of the Advisory Board and contributor to the Atwood Foundation Challenge.     

"My JPC degree from UAA has been the key that unlocked the doors to an exciting career in Communications. It's time to give back to the institution that helped me achieve my goals."