Western Region Exchange Programs (WUE & WRGP)


The Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) and the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) are reduced tuition programs for western-region out-of-state students.


Undergraduate students who qualify for the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) program pay 150% of the in-state tuition rate

Graduate students who qualify for the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP) pay the in-state tuition rate on all graduate degree programs, both master's and doctoral at UAA.


To qualify, students must be:

  1. Admitted to UAA
  2. A resident of a participating state, U.S. territory or freely associated state.

Consideration for WUE and WRGP is part of the application process, no separate form is required. Admissions will send notification of this status to the email supplied on the application.

Important note: Time attended as a WUE or WRGP student does not count toward the time required for establishing Alaska residency

Participating States

Participating states include Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

In addition to states on the map, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Guam, and other U.S. Pacific Territories & Freely Associated States participate in WUE and WRGP.




Map of WUE participating states