Department of Art Faculty

The University of Alaska Anchorage, Department of Art faculty teach, inspire, and mentor their students to be critical thinkers, skillful technicians and the brightest possibilities in the field of art. As accomplished artists and scholars, our faculty create and continually stimulate UAA's culture of research and discovery. Beyond the university, UAA's art faculty are leaders in their respective fields, pursuing an engaging array of projects.

Allana DeRocchi
Alanna DeRocchi (she/her/hers)
Term Instructor of Art
Ceramics Technician
Tom Chung
Thomas Chung (he/him/his)
Chair, Department of Art
Associate Professor of Art
Painting Program Coordinator
Steve Godfrey
Steve Godfrey (he/him/his)
Professor of Art
Ceramic Program Coordinator
Kimura Gallery Coordinator
Arc Gallery Coordinator
Herminia Din
Dr. Herminia Din (she/her/hers)
Professor of Art
BFA Program Coordinator
Garry Mealor
Garry Mealor (he/him/his)
Associate Professor of Art
Drawing Program Coordinator
Foundations Program Coordinator
Mariano Gonzales
Mariano Gonzales (he/him/his)
Professor of Art
Communication Design Program Coordinator

Adjunct Faculty

Mike Conti
Mike Conti (he/him/his)
Graham Dane
Graham Dane (he/him/his)
Color Design
2D Design
David Pettibone Image
David Pettibone (he/him/his)
Lukas Elliot
Lucas Elliot (he/him/his)
Graphic Design
Enzina Marrari
Enzina Marrari (she/her/hers)
2D Design
3D Design
Chris Judd Photo
Chris Judd (he/him/his)
Hollis Mickey
Hollis Mickey (she/her/hers)
Art History
Becky White
Becky White (she/her/hers)
Art Appreciation
Art History
Laruen Stanford image
Lauren Stanford (she/her/hers)

Support Staff


Hans Hallinen
Sculpture Technician
Exhibition Installation Specialist

Meghan Owens
Academic and Student Support